Drawn in pencil, held by love. ✏️🥚💗

in #story7 years ago

IMG_1629.JPG

My Grandad (in his 'Sunday's Best') and Grandma, in front of his beloved rose trellis. Like many wise men from the Southern states, my Grandad was already practicing permaculture before it was formally named. Not shown in this picture was a grape arbor, mulberry, pear and peach trees, corn, tomatoes, peppers, green beans, okra, gladiolas, well water, and when I grew up in the 70's, there was even a chicken coop! I am glad that my Grandad's legacies of land live strong in me. Soon enough, those legacies will be edible... and inhabitable.


"Artists don't make objects. Artists make mythologies." (Anish Kapoor)


When I was little, my Grandad tried to teach me the valuable lesson of impermanence by drawing cartoon characters, in pencil, on boiled eggs.

He was really good at drawing, so I never wanted to eat them.

I resisted his lesson.

Instead, I started hiding and saving the eggs, because they were no longer breakfast in my eyes, but ART... made special because they were made by him.

But my grandparents were too practical to indulge my early desire to curate beautiful things. “Food is to be eaten, chile.”

So I guess I’m saying... my Grandad taught me to eat art.

His drawings were much more complex and detailed than the simple ones below.


I also picked up the idea that boring things (like a daily boiled egg), can be made so much better with whimsy and creative expression.

Oh and, the things you draw on, don't have to be flat!

I miss him.

page-divider.jpg

And something for the ruby-hearted...

❤️ NOTHING IS WASTED ❤️


With special thanks to @lazarus-wist whose wonderful poem helped trigger this memory.

Sort:  

Food is to be eaten, art is food for the soul and should be preserved to share, so I'm totally on your side.
Photography, of course, lets both sides win.
Now I want to see an exhibition made entirely out of foodstuffs. "Don't eat the art."
Snappy dresser, tho'. It's getting harder to find a 3-piece these days.

Thanks @lensessions! :-)

He was Baptist, so... lol

What a great memory - I'm glad I could be of some service in reviving it! Impermanent art always has such a melancholy quality because it is, like us, only preservable for so long. That you can recall it now and got enjoyment from it at the time is all that matters.

Funnily enough, I've actually been to the temple where they filmed that scene! I'm a big fan of both Samsara and Baraka :)

Mind blowing story. I feel happy to read your blog. You are a good creator. Thanks for sharing the a story about your life.

You got a 2.75% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @erikaharris!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This is really beautiful memory. You are blessed to have them active in your life.

I can find no end of love through a photograph that you pin them in this article, there is always the timeless and true love ... Dear love it @erikaharris

I love the 'boring things can be made much better with whimsy and creative expression'. Like in the pjcture where the eggs have faces. Beautiful! All is energy and all is consciousness. Life is not confined to one expression.

Thanks, @alexaventuria. :-)

I agree. Perceptions may be confined, but life is not!

@erikaharris It is good to see such a lovely site as Family and Flowers...............

Awww...that reminds me of when my aunt Marguerite would teach me to draw. Sweet memories

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48