WALK YOUR WORRIES (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago

When you're feeling down,
so worn and wound,
walk your worries
through the rhythm
of this city

surrender deeply
to its symphony,
the whir of tires
skimming across
rough pavement,
the piercing horns
of hurried cabs

let the music
of the city's many murmurs
swallow you so completely
that you lay down your burdens

swim in the soup of
a million strangers,
their soulful cries,
lascivious laughs
intermingled with the ghosts
of countless dreams,
so painfully beautiful

let the city carry you
on its broad shoulders
through the coolness of this night
and it will cleanse you
by the time your feet tire
your troubles will be few

this night seems
to stretch on forever
but in the end morning
always comes too soon.


If you’ve enjoyed my work the best compliment you can give is to share it with others, either face-to-face or online. I appreciate all of your continued support!

Did you miss today's episode of my serialized novel, Alarm Clock Dawn? If so click here to read it.

Sort:  

One of your best on here - "swim in the soup" did it for me

Do you make the gifs yourself?

Thank you! No, I find most of my gifs from copyright-free sites on the internet.

this gif is like perfection for this piece...so good!

Thank you, Michele! Sometimes it'll take me 30-45 min to find "just the right one" to pair with a poem. It's a lot of fun though, it adds another dimension of creativity.

Can you link me up to some of those please?

giphy.com is an awesome resource.

@ericvancewalton, I love reading your poems. Ever since getting hooked on them, my brain just goes crazy with coming up with some of my own. I got to the point where I had to put a notebook by my bed, lol. I have a few already done, but trying to find the perfect photos to add to them.
Thank you for your continued sharing of your work.

Thanks, I'm glad you're connecting with the poetry. Certain music has the same effect on me. Madeline Peyroux and Stacy Kent's songs get my brain in the poetry groove and it causes my creativity to flow. I'm looking forward to reading what you've written. Please share a link when you post them!

Will do @ericvancewalton. One is being done as a 3 part series of my life. I am trying to keep courage to post it. Sad beginning, but promise of a happy ending. I will have to check out the music you speak of. Poetry is a big part of my younger years, and I'm working on bringing it back.

Lovely poem 💝💝

"intermingled with the ghosts
of countless dreams,
so painfully beautiful"
Those lines - made me think of What Dreams May Come - did you ever see that movie with Robin Williams? I always cry when I see it. You inspire me, Eric!

: ) I'm glad this resonated with you @fairytalelife! I haven't seen What Dreams May Come but I need to watch it. Robin Williams was an amazing person and actor.

Wow, blown away by your poem. It really resonated. Growing up on these streets and letting them be that balm when needed is entirely magical. There's an aliveness here that is particularly contagious. Bravo, in capturing that in words. I try to do that with my NY street photography. It's a love affair....

I appreciate that you connected with it, @ilanaakoundi. Thank you. There is a certain spirituality to the streets, isn't there? I think you have to have spent time in that world to truly understand. NYC is amazing, Chicago is too. I've spent way more time in Chicago but feel a connection with both cities. Do you live in New York?

Great read.

enjoy reading ur poem @ericvancewalton

Walk your worries ............ so nice poem :)

So touching! What a beautiful poem. Keep it up :)

Definitely appreciate this well written work of art. Thanks for sharing and giving inspiration to us readers and writers. Upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35