The Perfect Pause Meditation Series (1) - Gratitude

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Through the miracle of technology I am typing this post from a Boeing 757 cruising at exactly 558 mph. We’re flying 39,007 feet above sea level somewhere over the Caribbean Sea, destination, Charlotte Amalie.


There are those who say blockchain is overrated. Some people say cryptocurrency is nothing but a scam, a financial bubble akin to tulip mania, and even a Ponzi scheme. Let me tell you from firsthand experience the FUD that mainstream media is propagating could be no further from the truth.

The crypto/blockchain movement has been a true blessing in my life and has been extremely impactful to countless others. Steemit has been the epicenter of positive change on the most epic of proportions for me personally. I can trace every single positive thing that’s happened to me over the past couple of years right back to this platform. Alarm Clock Dawn, SteemFests 1 and 2, and the HardFork Series. Even more important than these things are the lifelong bonds that have been formed with other Steemians.

Since discovering Steemit I’ve gone from struggling author and corporate cubicle dweller to someone who has experienced true freedom. I wouldn’t have to work another day in my life but I’ve never wanted to work more than I do now.

When I was stuck in that cubicle I was so beaten down by the system I dreamed of retirement but now I long for as many more work days as I can possibly get. In fact, one lifetime doesn’t seem like long enough.

Needless to say, I’m filled with gratitude for this platform. I’m also grateful for those who created distributed ledger technology because it’s going to usher in substantive change for our entire species. My hope with the @hardFork-series is to give back to those who have done so much for me. Working on this project with @dougkarr, @bakerchristopher, and @skycorridors, among many others, has been beyond incredible.

I’ve been meditating nearly as long as I’ve been writing. My meditation practice showed me the way long before Steemit was even a glimmer in Ned Scott and Dan Larimer’s eyes but I didn’t have the courage to listen or to follow my dreams. I just kept trudging down the safe and familiar path, I inacted the same day thousands of times and my soul almost was extinguished in the process.

My wife would tell me almost every morning for years before I quit that corporate job, “Don’t do it...turn in your resignation” but couldn’t...I wasn’t ready. Once I began to listen, to truly live a life of gratitude, the shower of abundance began.

Recently I found a book called Synchronicity by Dr. Kirby Surprise. In this book the author reiterates how our thoughts create our reality. The highly simplified premise is whatever we hold in our minds we attractive into our lives, your thoughts shape your reality. If you focus on the negative, you experience more of the negative. Make a concerted effort to focus on the positive and your life will change be immeasurably transformed.

These days I strive to live each moment with gratitude and now that I do this I see this is absolutely how the universe works. Being thankful for what we have opens up channels to bring more abundance, it awakes freedom, and a peaceful and compassionate heart.

Would you like to try this yourself? If so, it’s easy.

Consciously think about the people and experiences in your life that add value. It’s okay to begin retroactively at first but it’s best when you start to recognize these positive influences in real time, as they happen.

When you recognize these miraculous people or events occurring in your life simply repeat the following mantra to yourself silently…


For this, I am grateful.


It’s as simple as that. If you begin to make this acknowledgement a habit it will become more than just a mantra or a meditation...you’ll notice a measurable improvement in your life.

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)


As always, I am thankful for your support.

Yours in the Chain,

Eric

Please follow our official Steemit account for the film series @hardfork-series. Did you miss our last post? If so CLICK HERE to read it!

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.
My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

They need to rename those islands, there haven[t been any virgins there in decades, lots of smoking hot ladies sure, but no virgins.
Enjoy the trip, and I will be dedicating my daily dose for 4/18 /18 to your memory project.

really beautiful post @ericvancewalton, it makes me breathe deeper and attune myself to the sweetness all around me. thank you! Have a wonderful vacation too, can't wait to see photos!

Thanks and sorry for the late reply. The internet and cell service only works when it wants to on St. Thomas. I'm taking advantage of a short window of good connect to make as many comments as I can! Hope you're well Ruth!

no worries, enjoy yourself, put the computer away :-)))

Thank you for such a personal testament for meditation. Gratitude has been one of my mid-ground experiences during meditations, I’ll start out in a funk and after a short meditation be able to open myself to the idea of gratitude. It’s tough! But once that gratitude s reached I agree that the perspective makes challenges very rewarding and I eventually became genuinely grateful for them. I’m also writing on meditations, feel free to check out my blog and followed list for some resources you might find interesting. I’ll check out your ebook with interest. Best!

Some people say cryptocurrency is nothing but a scam, a financial bubble akin to tulip mania, and even a Ponzi scheme. Let me tell you from firsthand experience the FUD that mainstream media is propagating could be no further from the truth.

The above words ought to be written in gold because of its genuineness and the raw truth it asserts. The blockchain is unstoppable. Just like some people said metals could not fly, and you are travelling today in a metallic bird at an altitude above 39,000 feet, so will blockchain sweep our world. The results are dancing before us and there are greater things to come. Thanks for sharing this.

P.s: I really appreciate the money you spent promoting my entry for the amazing blockchain memory project. I am awed and stunned. I am following you closely.

Upvote and resteem. Regards.

You did what others won’t which is paying your dues. There is no glory without sacrifice and some growing pains.

Only someone who has done the same can truly understand the sacrifice. 2018 is going to be your year!

True say steemit is not a scam or ponzy scheme .It's not a fraud . And also like your interest in mediation . You are meditating nearly as long as I’ve been writing. That's great . Am also do meditation.

The HardFork series is yet to get off the ground, isn't it? Or has an episode been released?

It will be a while yet @leprechaun. We're planning on a Q3 2019 release for the first season. We're making great strides though. We were just featured in Forbes a few weeks ago.

Simple yet so beautiful all keeping me amazed great to read this :D hope you are doing great :)

I believe very shortly blockchain and cryptocurrency will dominate the world. Fiat currency will be replaced by crypto and the whole universe will be a village as there will be no financial boundaries in terms of currency.

Your post is so informative.I am so happy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59612.39
ETH 2600.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48