THE CURTAIN (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

As the curtain
of darkness is drawn tight
and the incense smoke hangs still,
muse settles in
and I become its channel

it’s quick to remind me
in its soft murmurs
that possibilities and hope
are still well within
the reach of my mind

muse, my sweet amnesia,
makes me forget my wounds,
my worries and
the prickly ache of time passed

once refocused in the moment
it’s easy to see my scars
make me who I am
but do not define me

worries are only time wasted,
my muse is otherworldly
and Heaven sent,
it leaves me lifted,

with the warmth of it
wrapped around me
I can brush the
the frigid throes of this world
from my shoulders

again I can walk
with head raised,
proud of each facet of my soul,
happy in every cell of my being,
filled with the heightened
anticipation of what might be.


A Little About This Poem: Writing has gotten me through a lot of challenges in my life. Writing has been my therapist, my priest, and like a loyal and trusted friend. It gives me back much more than the time I invest in it. It's like a pool of peace that I retreat into when the world has depleted me and my soul needs to be recharged. I hope you felt some of that in this piece. Have a good evening everyone.

Did you miss the last episode of my novel, Alarm Clock Dawn? If so click here to read it. New episodes will be posted every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings at 11AM CST!

To follow my unfolding story please visit my website here to sign up for my author newsletter.

Sort:  

Still learning to know how to read poetry but sounds good to me. Upvoted.

I'm glad you enjoyed it @hanamana. Thank you!

Worry is time wasted, Eric. Thanks for the reminder.

You're welcome. It's not always easy to remember, @fairytalelife.

Resteemed

you are a wonderful poet and I'm not flattering here.
there are few poems that I feel speak my soul, my experience and yours always do. I have been reminded of how powerful and rich poetry can be through reading yours and spend more time browsing my poetry books than I have in years. Keep up the great posts

What an amazing compliment, @natureofbeing. I truly thank you. Have a good evening!

Nice :)

that's really good. love it.

I especially liked your personal conclusion at the end; ironically, I also did a similar thing with my poem today, check it out if you have time.

Thank you, @beginningtoend. Your poem was fabulous, so much so I resteemed it. Great work!

Thanks, I am having fun posting on steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66070.34
ETH 2691.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88