THE CLIFF (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago

The knowing
never leaves
me now,
it's haunting
to realize
the when, the
why, the how

drowning in
a sea of greed,
so blissfully distracted
as the 1% reaps,
their machine
consuming evermore

We each play our roles
but those nervous
smiles reveal
the feeling that
something's
wrong with the
direction of this herd

At times
it seems like
the right words
might just
break our trance
but so continues
our dance
right to the edge
of the cliff.


The best compliment you can give is to share my work with others, either face-to-face or online. I appreciate all of your continued support!

I produce limited edition, handmade poetry chapbooks twice per year. Please visit my website to sign up for my author newsletter to receive updates on when the next poetry chapbook is available!

Did you miss today's episode of my serialized novel, Alarm Clock Dawn? If so click here to read it!

Sort:  

That cliff has a long drop, Eric

It sure does. Literally and metaphorically!

Wow! Great poem, it is so beautiful and full of meanings. Thank you for sharing it to us :)
Keep it up and do more. Upvoted :)

drowning in
a sea of greed,
so blissfully distracted
as the 1% reaps

Felt you.

Thanks! I wrote this one shortly after my wife and I found out the house we had bought just a few months before was worth $60k less than we paid for it. This was around the timeframe of the housing crisis of 2008.

Just signed up for your newsletter! You are a great writer! Love your video effects on your posts too!

Great! Thank you, @travelista! I'm a big fan of your travel posts. I've been bitten by the wanderlust bug as well. : )

Glad to hear this @ericvancewalton! Ill definitely be on top of your beautiful writings! 😉

"...right the the edge.."..aaaauuuugggh!

That video at the end - h o l y - s h i t ! ! !

Wow! Great poem, it is so beautiful and full of meanings. Thank you for sharing it to us :)
Keep it up and do more. Upvoted :)

oh? really amazing, I can't do that , I am afraid of heights

wow !! amazing ....... the cliff :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.72
ETH 3101.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33