Sweet Regress (An Original Poem)

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Deep within our branches
we long to move
to an ever-new wilderness,
explore grassy fields unknown.

We crave an alternate reality,
to escape the long, dry
years of life and all of the
differing aspects of our sorrow.

I wish to revisit those moments
my subconscious has hidden,
those treasured memories
of innocence and of laughter.

So many times I was stolen away,
transported to a land of magic,
fueled by imagination, lack of cares,
and warm rays of sun.

In this life, fate will take from you
all that it can steal but from our memories
we read a completely different story…
we are limitless, we belong to no one.


(Gif compliments of Giphy.com.)

Please follow our official Steemit account for the film series @hardfork-series. Join us for the debut of our HardFork Film Series Teaser Trailer on Friday, November 3rd at SteemFest2! Did you miss our last post? If so CLICK HERE for the big reveal of our new film poster!

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

My new book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, has been discounted to $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook) for a limited time. Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

An excellent, expressive poem. And gif-animation perfectly complements it.

Great introspective poem. We are limited only my what we can imagine.

Nice poem

Fantastic! "We are limitless, we belong to no one." Such a great sentiment! Love all the insights in this wonderful poem Eric!

Thank you my friend!

Indeed! This made me wanna visit the countryside near my village. :)

Very good your post poetry @ericvancewalton. I like it :-)

So glad you enjoyed it. Thanks!

Dr @ericvancewalton great writing.Thanks for good post. i like and following.

Thanks, I appreciate the comment!

Hi @ericvancewalton
I really like your writing.
Your writing makes me wonder.
How do you tell it, is this a true story or just a fiction.
But this makes it look like your writing.
Good luck. I hope to get your next article.

Thank you very much, @riko! With my poetry, there's usually a bit of personal truth in it. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

yes very happy to enjoy your poetry. especially if this is the story of life in adopted in poetry. lately I have also written some poems. if you are not busy please visit my blog page. thank you

we are limitless, we belong to no one..Awesome lines.
Connected with ur posts. Upvoted and followed. Hope u follow me back :)

I'm glad you connected with it. Thanks!

those treasured memories
of innocence and of laughter.

It amazes me how we all long for simpler things, and wonder at the imagination and innocence of a child.

It's so true. Our memory often paints the past as being better than it really was, in my experience. Woody Allen totally pegged in the film Midnight In Paris.

This poem traveled to us to a large extent within this experience of a poet who mastered the art of poetic writing where the poem coloring different than the details for the moment that gives the humain the pleasure of things

Very poetic comment @mageofor! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66492.65
ETH 3309.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72