SUNFLOWER GRAVEYARD (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Not long ago you stood tall
with heads held high,
reminding all passers by
that it was summer and
smiles come easily

now the days grow cool
and they grow short
you've so graciously
given the birds
the last of yourselves

now you stand stooped
and shriveled, dark against
the vibrant palette of autumn
and a collective feeling
of dread has gathered,

you’ve given us the gift
of the memory of
what you once were

the value you added
to our days was subtle
but it was immeasurable

all we can do is scatter
the seeds of our
wishes into the wind
and dream well of
your quick return.


Did you miss today's episode of my serialized novel, Alarm Clock Dawn? If so click here to read it.

As you can see from the photo above, I've been writing for a really, really long time. These past few months on Steemit have truly been a lifelong dream come true for me. There are many more very exciting things I have to share with you in the coming months! To follow my unfolding story please visit my website here to sign up for my author newsletter so we can stay in touch. Good night and thank you!

Sort:  

this poem touches my heart .......... thank you :)

You're welcome! Thanks for being such a loyal reader!

Enjoyed, fitting title and especially liked the line-

now the days grow cool
and they grow short
you've so graciously
given the birds
the last of yourselves

one small nit in S1, should "heads" be "head" singular as L1 refers to you. I am uncertain as you could mean you all, as all in the graveyard?

Thanks @beginningtoend! I was actually imagining a group of sunflowers when I wrote this but the image used doesn't really jive with my original vision.

I do feel dread at summer's end--I love the warm sunny summer! This is a really good one Eric!

So do I @micheletrainer! Winter is so long here! Thanks!

Very nice!

excellent post, beautiful words, a beautiful poem Thank you

I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Thanks!

I like it, because of the simplicity of the subject picked. Shows me that it is possible to write about anything out there, thanks

Thank you, there's magic in simplicity!

Absolutely beautiful. Sunglowers are one of my favorite flowers for how long the endure the summer, and how gracefully they wilt to fall. What a wonderful interpretation of their souls.

Thank you! I used to walk our beagle by a garden full of these in our old neighborhood and this was the inspiration for the poem.

Great One.

Much appreciated!

Nice!!!!!!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64337.17
ETH 3175.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56