SUCCESS (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Both a seeker
and a scarred sage
I am approaching
that certain age
when you
learn that
each decision
matters.

Fear is both
a bully and
a coward
stand up to it
more than
once and it
shatters

My heart
has felt
the glory
of the dawning
of this dream
to be found
a few steps
beyond the
searing pain
of defeat

Each time
you fall
you must rise
again
to your feet
because with
persistence
you will win
and this
success is
so sweet.

Sort:  

Love this so much, @ericvancewalton! Simple and beautiful, eloquent, wonderfully uplifting and insightful. Thank you!

I really appreciate that, @thedarkestplum! Thank you!

Well written and very true too. I have found myself writing, and sometimes just thinking up a poem here and there. To this day I wish I had written them down. Reading yours just now will be an inspiration to me. Thank you for sharing yours @ericvancewalton

You're welcome! Thank you!

This sums up the lessons of life: never give up.

It is beautiful.

Great, i like most how you used to break your sentences, it helps to strengthen the message

Thank you, @serejandmyself! It's fun to play with line breaks and structure. You can really change the vibe of the poem that way!

Yep, i like to play with punctaution also

Simple but profound. I needed this message this morning! Thanks. I'm am really enjoying the original work on this platform. No need to scroll thru Facebook to see the same ole stolen inspirational quotes and memes.

I'm glad you connected with it, @farmerswife and thank you! I'm so grateful for Steemit. I had been posting my work to social media for 5+ years and Facebook and Twitter made it increasingly difficult to reach people who had already "liked" your page. Steemit has been a real revelation to me. There is going to be much more poetry like this posted! I have a 22 year backlog. 😊

Your poem is good. When did you start writing poems?

Thanks you! I started 22 years ago.

It shows!

I appreciate that.

This is super inspiring, thank you for sharing. I needed this.

Thanks for reading it, @veralynn!

Love it.

@carlidos

Thank you for sharing this. I love the last verse. So true. So eloquent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49