STILL THE BELL TOLLS (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Once we had
broad shoulders
and callused hands,
we were craftsmen
and held in high esteem
those who made things,
ingenuity ran in our blood

once we were young,
full of enthusiasm
we convinced ourselves
that our way was better,
we sold the world the fabric
of our idealism to weave
their own magic carpet

now we are lost,
we are listless
our eyes dead from worry,
our souls scarred by greed
we have all that we want
but not enough of what we need,
still the bell tolls

giving all we think
we have to give
and then we give more
to serve our corporate Lords
I fear that we will never
be able to replace
what they've subtracted
nor fully decipher
what's been redacted,
still the bell tolls

the foundation
of our empire quivers,
but the Lords are
too brazen to shiver
as we awaken
hungry in our cells,
still the bell tolls

we are catching fire
some call it revolution
but it's only evolution
to a higher consciousness
it's time for change
let's come together
and let the bell toll.


I hope you're enjoying the poetry! If so, the best compliment you can give is to share my work with others, either face-to-face or online. I appreciate your continued support!

I produce limited edition, handmade poetry chapbooks twice per year. Please visit my website to sign up for my author newsletter go receive updates on when the next poetry chapbook is available!

Sort:  

That sum up the corporation revolution!

Keep it coming!

I have many, many more! ☺️

WOW

@ericvancewalton nice work :)

Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

👍 @ericvancewalton , great.... keep up ur great work

Great poem, enjoy @ericvancewalton

Reminded me of wolf on wall street

I never thought about that but it kind of does. Thanks for reading and commenting!

"We are catching fire,
Some call it revolution,
But it's only evolution"

Well said @ericvancewalton

Thank you! I feel it like never before!

@ericvancewalton nice one, u shud write more of such poems

Awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66561.16
ETH 3492.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63