SteemFest2 - Friday - Montes Claros

in #story7 years ago (edited)

My wife, Raymi, and I arrived in Lisbon later in the day on Thursday so unfortunately we missed the first few days of SteemFest2 but we’ve made up for lost time in the last two days.

We woke up and walked onto our balcony to discover a rainbow (I took this as a good omen that the day would go well.)

This is the view from the other side of our hotel balcony. The Portuguese are very aggressive drivers. Our Uber driver today told us the the yellow lights actually mean go faster in this city. The Uber trips are uber inexpensive here, probably half the price that you’d pay in America, on average.


Marques de Pombal Square

We ate a quick breakfast in the hotel and chatted with a few other Steemians before we boarded the bus at 8:45am, to take us to the day’s venue Montes Claros.

We spent time on gorgeous patio socializing with Steemians, both old and new before we attended our first talk of the day by @quinneaker. This year’s conference carried the same vibe as last year in Amsterdam, I was absolutely blown away by the tremendous intelligence, talent, and mutual support we have on this platform. It must be experienced to be fully understood.

@quinneaker discussed Garden of Eden, Steemit and shared his philosophy. Quinn proved himself to be a magnetic and talented public speaker. His talk was both informative and engaging. His ability to open up totally on stage was also very impressive to someone (like me) who isn’t a natural public speaker.

It was the day I had been long waiting for, @dougkarr, @andrarchy, and I had the 1:30pm time slot to present the HardFork Film Series teaser trailer. We were thrilled and humbled by the reception we received about our film series and couldn’t be more grateful to you all for the kind words and support you all showered us with.

The last talk of the day was Ned’s fireside chat. He talked about the direction forward he envisioned for Steemit and took questions from the audience. The short of it is the platform will only get better in the year to come.

After this, was a little over an hour to have a few drinks and socialize before dinner. My wife and I had some very nice chats with several people including @ballinconscious, @exyle, and @ezzy to name just a few. Doug and I had a chance to hang out, enjoy a few glasses of wine, and come down off of our huge adrenaline rush we had from our talk.

Dinner was delicious, Raymi and I sat between Doug and @shla-rafia. We enjoyed a traditional Portuguese pea soup (with egg), a main course of delicious duck, sweet potatoes, and spinach, and a key lime torte for desert (and a few more glasses of wine.)

Our first full day here at SteemFest 2 was INCREDIBLE. I appreciate all of the great conversations I had with many of you. I didn't think it was possible but @roelandp and his SteemFest team made this year's event even better than the first SteemFest! Roeland, you are a rockstar my friend.

(All photos are original.)

Please follow our official Steemit account for the film series @hardfork-series. Thank you all for the wonderful support of our HardFork Film Series trailer at SteemFest2! Did you miss our last post? If so CLICK HERE to read it!

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

My new book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, has been discounted to $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook) for a limited time. Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

I'm glad you had such a great time! The presentation was amazing the response was spectuacular!

Wish I was with you there. But I enjoyed watching you :)

I wish you were there too!

The @hardfork-series was REALLY a spectacular part of SteemFest and I am so excited about it. @hardfork-series was my favorite presentation at SteemFest and the project I am most excited to be a part of.

Connecting with @dougkarr and @ericvancewalton was really awesome and activated something great within me.

Hope to meet you soon! Keep up the great work.

Thank you, @the-alien! I wish you could have made it too! You were missed!

Great pictures of your memories/experiences so far at SteemFest! That rainbow, too—wow! So glad @shenanigator and I were able to meet up with you guys again. :)

It was great chatting with you guys too! So excited for your future plans and I'm looking forward to following your posts about your travels.

Wow, this is a great event and I unfortunately could not attend it, but it's nice and interesting to look at your photos and the story about it. Thank you for sharing @ericvancewalton

I’m glad you enjoyed it!

Thanks for a well said account, maybe my first time will be next year @ericvancewalton

Thanks! I hope you can make it!

so nice story and very nice photo..... good job in steemfest.

I appreciate it!

welcome to and love to your blog.
tenor (5).gif

wow nice pictures of your memories. such a lovely

Hey Eric,
So good of you to update us, I watch the event on tape. You guys rocked it on the Hard Fork series, I hope @the-alien survived the crash of the mothership. Will you guys be coming to Texas for SXSW in March to promote the series? If so I look forward to making the trip to Austin meet you guys.
Until next time,
@sultnpapper

Que bonita experiencias gracias por compartir. Lindos lugares, me encantaría tener la oportunidad de estar en lugares así!

Gracias, senorita, no habla espanol.

Gracias, Portugal es un lugar hermoso, ¡hay tanta historia aquí!

Thank you, Sir! We had a great time sharing the trailer. We very likely will be presenting at conferences this coming year. If we make to Austin we’ll definitely let you know. It’d be great to meet up!

Steem..on steam.....
Great steemfest

wow

great photos Eric! Glad the presentation went well and to hear about other speakers and overall impressions.

Thank you, Ruth! Now after SteemFest the real work on HardFork begins. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.29
ETH 2637.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52