RESURRECTION (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago

When I was
just a young man
I liked things
shiny and new,

as the years
have gone by
I have grown
to appreciate
a speckle of rust,
a layer of dust,
a mottled patina

middle aged me
has a certain penchant,
not for pretty things,
but rather things
that have been cast aside
as useless and obsolete,

tired things huddled
off in a corner feeling like
they've lived a hundred lives,
maybe because I do too?

oftentimes all it
takes is a little attention
to spark a grand resurrection

I've found
these things are
so eager
to tell their stories
and continue their breath of life
inhale tarnished, exhale cleansed

I seek out and smile at
the perfectly imperfect
and bask in
their greatness of character

I don't mind that they've
lived a hundred lives,
for in my heart
they are reborn and
in a sense, so am I.


A little about this poem: I found this 1959 Raleigh bike on Craigslist in the fall of 2014 for $120. The first picture was the afternoon I brought it home. Over the course of next two years, bit-by-bit I restored it (with the help of eBay, many YouTube videos, and the members of a vintage Raleigh bike club). This was one of the most rewarding things I've ever done as now it's a piece of art that can be ridden...and ridden it is, as often as possible.

I hope you're enjoying the poetry! If so, the best compliment you can give is to share my work with others, either face-to-face or online. I appreciate your continued support!

I produce limited edition, handmade poetry chapbooks twice per year. Please visit my website to sign up for my author newsletter go receive updates on when the next poetry chapbook is available!

Sort:  

ur poem always interesting to read, excellent @ericvancewalton

Middle aged me really appreciates your poem. And my husband has an old green Raleigh!

Please check out the poem my friend wrote... I think it's a hidden gem :)
https://steemit.com/poetry/@goose/hummus-an-original-poem

Thanks, @zenagain. They are the best bikes! What year/model does he have? I'd like to get my wife a Superbe model. I've been scouting Craigslist for a good one. Thanks for the link, I'll check it out later today.

Thanks for checking it out. :) I really enjoyed your poem. Yours is a little deeper than mine.

Raleigh Colt... not sure what year... guessing from the '70s

great!

Great poem.
As we get older, our views, perspective and values change. This poem is a reflection of the changes that we experience as we age

Perfect! I like it so much!

lovely poem :D

@ericvancewalton good one :)

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it.

Nice bike. This reminds me of the bike Santa bought me during WWII. There were no new bikes because of the war so my Dad restored a second hand one for me and I couldn't have loved a new one more.

Thanks, @team101! I loved the resourcefulness of that era. We could learn a lot from it today. Things were made to be repaired, not replaced.

nice one!

Nice poem.
I wrote few poems too but nobody like it sobs sobs .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54349.85
ETH 2284.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32