KNOW ME (An Original Poem)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

You think you know me
but do you really?

You’ve savored me before
like the last taste of summer wine
and you have ignored me like
some troubled stranger
asking for your last dime

Do you remember?

I call to you softly
in your time of greatest need
to offer solace and
love, without condition
I am a steady presence
who is here to ground you
in times of chaos

Are you listening?

I place no blame,
you were built
to be a stranger to yourself
in a world where the only goal
is to discover
who it is you really are

Will you love me?

There is no leap of logic
that can bring you closer to me
there is only one way,
an unfolding of your heart.

I am waiting
and will be here forever,
I will replace doubt with faith
I am your soul.


image source - peekasso.tumblr.com


The best compliment you can give is to share my work with others, either face-to-face or online. I appreciate all of your continued support!

Did you miss today's episode of my serialized novel, Alarm Clock Dawn? If so click here to read it!

Sort:  

I was gonna say myself or my higher self, but thats pretty close to my soul.

This is so beautiful! I can resonate with your words on so many levels.

#soul :D thank you for tonight's thoughful poem @ericvancewalton XO Cheers!

thats awesome poem thank you for sharing :) i followed you ..perhaps u look at my blog and u find some graffiti that u like! <3 kalipo

Thanks! I just checked it out. Very nice art! My friends and I used to graffiti and tag walls in the 80's. We were into the whole hip hop culture. It was MUCH different than today though.

I really like this, thank you for bringing the message of consciouess through.

I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading! Namaste.

Nice once again!

👍great novel always @ericvancewalton

I like poems that phrase questions. I especially like it when they only give hints to the answers, I don't always like being told what to think; none-the-less, your final line ties in nicely, a great poem, I enjoyed the read.

Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

333 upvotes! This post is indeed deserving of a trinity of threes.

You think you know me, but do you really?

At first I thought it was a lover, then maybe God. But the I in the poem is me. Very nice.

I enjoy your work... with poetry sometimes all you can say is, that's pretty. But you always weave a twist or a hidden point in yours. I like trying to find them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63713.30
ETH 3389.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62