Glimpses (An Original Poem)

in #story7 years ago (edited)

This is a world
in which we
don't belong…
this realization begins
with an ache,
a vague
sense of longing,
for a life of
more meaning,
that we so badly
need to be true.

Shortly after,
comes an
insatiable lust
to brush against
the soft shoulder
of a purely
creative existence,

To arrive, there
can be no room left for
pleasurable illusions,
we must vow to
do battle with the
world for headspace
every second of
our existence,

Words cannot
come more
close to ears,
as endless spirals
of deep, dark rejection
rip through our souls
with every intent
to destroy us
until they reveal
how hallow and weak
their grip is.

There are no
easy gains when
dreams begin
on the other side
of fear and pain
a threshold,
once crossed,
leaves you
forever changed
never to return
to that harsh world,

Never will you
want it to end,
never will you
wish to stop giving
their world
tiny glimpses
of your paradise,
for it is the only
thing that will
make you feel
whole again.


(art by Banksy, quote by Ursula K. Le Guin.)


“To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong.” ― Joseph Chilton Pearce

A little about this poem: Lately I’ve been contemplating how us creative people live in a world separate from everyone else and I set out to write a poem that tries to capture the essence of that.

In this piece I’ve also incorporated the, “acrostic” technique of spelling out a word or phrase within the body of the poem. This adds another layer of complexity and meaning to poetry. To decipher it you must look closely. Do you see what it is?


*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Eric Vance Walton - Media

www.ericvancewalton.net

Steemit

Twitter

Facebook

Sort:  

I always read your work hearing a man that has walked a journey, is enjoying the present day, and is looking forward to another journey. To me, it is a healthy and exhilarating way to live.

Your words about the role of an author remind me of something I read the other day.

"Wonder is that which an author feels and compels the world to see for its beauty and truth."

Thank you @lydon.sipe. Middle age is awesome in so many ways. I feel like I'm fully transitioning now to the writer's life and it is totally exhilarating! It's so much more than I dreamed it would be. Beautiful quote! That quote sums it up perfectly.

It is awesome to hear you transitioning to your dream life. I thought the quote was perfect as well.

Thank you @lydon.sipe. Slowly but surely. It's always tougher to accomplish than I imagine it to be.

ah yes so true and well articulated!

Oh my wow! This just sent chills down my spine! I've just started following you after this, great post!

Thank you @modern-man! I'm glad you connected with it. I appreciate the follow as well!

I love poem... And i has posted some poem. Your poem is nice

wow , really like this, great skills! truly

I really appreciate that, @doitvoluntarily! Thank you!

"CREATIVE" I really dig your incorporation of the acrostic technique. Very sneaky, or should I say... "creative" ;)

Of course it is creative. And I knew immediately you would be looking, @voronoi. Just your kind of puzzle! :)

Thanks, @voronoi! The acrostic technique is so much fun to play around with. I'm toying with doing this in my second novel...a short story within a novel.

Your poem causes goosebumps :) I follow :)

Hopefully good goosebumps! Thank you so much @yoganarchista!

I see it. I had a feeling it would be that word. You really got this one, Eric. It's how I have been feeling inside for a long while. Thank you for my inspiration of the day.

I appreciate it, @fairytalelife. I'm grateful you're back...you add a certain level-headed grace to this platform. I'm glad you enjoyed this! : )

Aw shucks, Eric. Thank you for the compliment. I have missed posting and being active here.

You're welcome! One thing is for sure, it's never boring on Steemit. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83