Blockchain Memory Project - Journal Entry (3) - Brotherhood

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Incase you missed it, the Steemit Blockchain Memory Project was launched last week and am excited about the comments and posts that are being generated.

A huge THANK YOU to all who have participated thus far!


Memories make us who we are and follow behind us, like shadows, our entire lives.

No internet, no mobile phones...not even cable TV. Definitely simpler times.

Childhood in 1970’s lower middle class America wasn’t at all a bad experience for me. My family didn’t have much in terms of material things but now that I’m a little older and have traveled to other parts of the world I’ve come to understand we had more than most (and more than enough). As I think back, it felt like we existed in a bubble of safety and security.

Although memories from my first two years of life are a little hazy, a few of them have remained with me. I was an extremely shy and curious child and was allergic to almost everything. I lived life to a large extent inside my own head. This is probably how my imagination came to be so developed.

Our family owned one car (a 1969 Dodge Charger R/T) and my father took that to work so if my Mom needed to go anywhere we had to walk. I remember a few times a week my Mom would load me into a red wagon and pull me up to Young’s, the small neighborhood grocery store (it was more like a Bodega) about a mile away from where we lived.

Since my father worked during the day I spent most of my time with my Mom. The economy in America back then was such that families could survive on one income, but that was changing quickly. Life for us was simple, consisting of regular meals, playtime, story time, and afternoon naps. I remember eating a lot of macaroni and cheese and bologna sandwiches. My parents had a huge console radio with record player. Music was almost always playing softly in the background, mostly songs of the 50’s and 60’s.

Entertainment for us meant car rides through downtown on the weekends or stopping by the airport to watch planes take off and land. The only socializing I remember is with aunts and uncles.

My brother, Curt, was born in 1974 when I was three years old and I remember that day vividly. I can recall being confused by what was happening. Back then, before HMOs, hospitals kept women for a couple of days after giving birth.

Curt was a collicky baby and cried a lot at night. Since we shared a bedroom I was up most of the night too. I remember walking into my parent’s room and nudging my Mother awake and asking, “Can we take him back?”

Thankfully, the crying eventually subsided and my brother and I bonded.

I remember enjoying teaching him new things and trying to be an example to him. As he got a little older I remember playing “crash-up derby.” Each of us would sit at the opposite ends of the hallway and hurl metal Matchbox and Hotwheels cars towards one another.

We logged probably hundreds of hours laughing at cartoons, Three Stooges, Little Rascals, Laurel and Hardy, and Benny Hill together. We roamed the alleyways in the neighborhood on our bikes, building countless “forts” and “clubhouses”. These are the kind of things kids did before iPads and structured play dates and I’m so thankful for the memories made in these years.

Curt and I spent every waking hour together until I started kindergarten in 1976. I began to develop friendships with a few other kids my age but still spent most of my time with my family.

My brother and I have remained close despite twenty-three years of living almost a thousand miles away from one another, him in Ohio and me in Minnesota. I’ve watched him raise two children to adulthood-- now he's raising a third.

I’ve witnessed Curt transform himself from dropping out of high school (and subsequently earning his GED and college degree) to becoming a Vice President at Saks Fifth Avenue. Even more importantly I’ve witnessed, time and time again, his humility and kindness. To say he’s made me a proud older brother is an understatement.

Next year, we plan on making an exciting and epic journey together to England to visit the village our ancestors lived in before they came to America in the early 1700’s, Oxhill Parish.

I hope you enjoyed these memories! Have a great weekend everyone.


Steemit Blockchain Memory Project Rules of Engagement

  • Share any significant memory you’d like to. Think about things that have shaped who you are or may be unique in some way. Think about memories you’d like your great-great-grandchildren to read about....now write posts about these memories in your Steemit blog.
  • Use proper tags (see below)
  • Share a link to this post in all of your Blockchain Memory Project posts so others can find the rules.
  • Share your posts with your friends and family on external social media outlets (optional but encouraged).

Tag Suggestions

We want your memories to live on forever. We also want those memories to be searchable by those who might be looking for them in the future.

For this reason, I suggest the following tags for your first four - “Story Life Blog BlockchainMemoryProject”.

Your last tag should be very specific to what you’re writing about in your post, something that will help people who are searching for it on the internet.

I'll be sharing memories of my own along the way.

Prizes

Each month I will comb through the posts tagged with “BlockchainMemoryProject” and choose my favorites. The post owners will receive a surprise in their wallets...a portion of a monthly prize of 10 Steem! Note: all rules of engagement must be followed for your post to qualify.

As always, I thank you for reading.

Yours in the Chain,

Eric

Please follow our official Steemit account for the film series @hardfork-series. Did you miss our last post? If so CLICK HERE to read it!

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.
My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Wow, this is so awesome. Amazing the elements of your memory that peek through till this day. Cars, music, forts, tv shows, and early relationships. My own memories are all centered around those same things running around in our apartment with my brother in Paris. So crazy how if you let your mind wander for a moment your instantly transported back like you just stepped into a time machine. Wonderful post Eric!

Thank you, Doug! What amazing memories you must have of Paris. I bet you were introduced to some of those incredible open air markets and good food very early. This has been a fun project but I don't like to spend too much time looking back. There are so many good things on the horizon!

Ain’t that the truth!!

I can not thank you enough for starting this memory project. It is so great to read about the childhood of Steemians in many different countries. Your story is in one way or another very familiar with my own story. I could write your first paragraph myself! The only difference is that I was born in the fifties, but I think that the Netherlands and the US had many similarities at that time.
Nice to read that you have a very good relationship with your brother. That is not always the case as you know.
I hope to make another post as soon as I am back in the Netherlands in two weeks. All my photos are in Rotterdam and the photos make the story more lively.So that's why I have not already written a new memory post. Instead, I wrote about life in France where we currently reside.

Thank you for your enthusiasm for the project @clio! I'm very happy with how it's turning out so far. It's been interesting for me to read about other people's history. I think this why I like travel so much, to connect with and learn from others who've lived a different life experience than me. I'm very much looking forward to your next post!

Really enjoyed reading your story Eric! I'd forgotten how typical this 'one car family' scenario was when we were young. My family was the same and we walked or biked everywhere and were with each other nearly all the time as a consequence - for worse or better, lol! We lived in town so there were more people around and we also had 5 children, but still the family was the dominant social circle for us as well. This is in real contrast with my friends' children and my siblings' children as well who live very social lives and have from birth. And perhaps this is because we all live in cities, or maybe it's that most families have 2 cars now.

In any case, fun read and the upcoming trip to England with your brother sounds really great!

Hey @natureofbeing! Thank you. I've noticed that same change to social circles too. My five year old nephew is more social at that age than I am now. Lol.

It seems to me that back in the 1970's people were less comfortable borrowing money and credit cards were far less common. Raymi and I often talk about how the middle class in America would probably shrink very significantly overnight if credit was taken away.

I'm glad you enjoyed this one! I'm very excited for England. It'll be a nice reward for the hard work this year. Take care and have a good rest of the weekend!

you're so right about credit cards in the 1970s....this is a really big change! And a car was $2K then too and there was less reason to go into debt since the cost of living was more manageable. The credit situation these days is really heartbreaking - as Americans we are encouraged at every turn to go into debt and then are enslaved by this for years.

I think that my 7 and 2 year old niece and nephew are also more social than I am ;-)). But like you, I really appreciate the creativity that arose daily back in the days of unstructured, unsupervised time. Life really was quite different!

Great memories.

can we take him back..

It sounds like bonding over cartoons softened you up. We grew up at the lower end of the scale (free school lunches and all), but traveling the world has also opened my eyes to how good we had/have it. I also remember walking everywhere as a kid. Distances didn't seem the same to us. And if it was too far to realistically walk, we took the bus. For a dime, you could ride all day (as long as you asked for a transfer slip when you got off each time).

Haha, yeah it's ironic that the mega-violent cartoons softened us up! : ) I remember walking or biking everywhere too! It was nothing for us to travel 4-5 miles one way, especially when we were teenagers. We would walk miles to the record store.

What a great memory my brother.It is wonderful that you two are still close.
Anyone who really knows you can tell that you’re a person with good character and respect for the human race. It warms my heart to have you as my friend.

Thank you my friend! I feel the same way about you. Talk about memories! We've made some amazing ones down through the years. I'm looking forward to many more!

Darn, it @ericvancewalton you continue to enthrall me with your childhood.

Even though I am so much older than you I remember that era and have younger brothers your age that came along when I was in high school.
My brothers are ten months apart from each other.

This is great, keep writing, I need good memories revived. You are one year older than my favorite brother.

You take me right back to that precious time, making life seem more simple, somehow. Funny how it works, looking back is always waiting and you do it in a good way. I like the photos too.

Thanks for sharing your beautiful brother and memories of him as a child.

Spiritual connections are great and I totally feel the connection to that time through your writing.

🌀 🌀 🌀

So glad you enjoyed it @rebeccabe! I watched a doc on Netflix about Mister Rodgers the other night, he was all about providing security to children and making them feel that they were perfect the way they were. This was the feeling I had during my young childhood in the 70's. I was lucky, even back then it was getting more rare.

Wow, I bet that age gap made things interesting around the house! That time did seem a lot simpler, didn't it? Everything seemed less extreme back then, even the music on the radio. If I had to describe the biggest difference between then and now that would probably be it.

So glad you're enjoying this series! Your comments are always appreciated.

you are welcome ... I agree those were different times.

No problem @ericvancewalton quality and well projects will always be appreciated.
Touching memory, bond between you and your brother is absolutely brilliant and loving. Brothers are made for each other, to stand with each other thorugh thick and thin. Blessings for you both

I remember walking into my parent’s room and nudging my Mother awake and asking, “Can we take him back?”

Lol, classic answer!

Your trip to England sounds incredible. There is something special about walking where our ancestors trod and knowing our roots in an intimate manner. Loved reading your story, Eric!

Haha, I can actually remember saying that in my sleep deprived delirium. I'm glad you enjoyed the post, Lydon! I think stepping foot in that village will be pretty impactful, it's only twenty miles from where Shakespeare lived so I'll have to go there too. I'd love to catch a play at the Globe.

This is a fantastic idea.

I like to live in the present, but I can think of a few gems from the past...

Thank you! I don't like to spend too much time looking back either but every now and then I like to reminisce.

Jeez, how did i miss this?

"BlockchainMemoryProject" work begins on this, i got a window to share some of my pains and joy again

I'm looking forward to learning more about your past!

Alright Mr.Eric, working on my entry for this amazing project; will post it by tommorrow sire.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81