You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Albert: A Short Story

in #story6 years ago

It's one thing to hear a story, read a book or watch a film and get all the perspectives presented. As viewers, we understand everyone involved because we are told their story. As those affected, we feel different. We don't have the distance when it comes to family members. In the case of your brother, a doctor has made a wrong decision and a relative a right one. It is a very good story because it shows that people are fallible and that you should trust yourself when you have doubts. It is encouraging and I am grateful that you dared to share it and send a message.

I was especially touched that despite the widespread medical hopelessness, your brother was lucky to be surrounded by people who were confident. This, I think, is the most important aspect of this family experience.

I wonder how old you were at that time?

That you let the doctor die of a heart attack: is that the irony you are referring to?

Sort:  

I was 5. My brother's illness had a profound effect on the house. He had been an invalid in bed for a long time with the heart disease and then afterwards had to fight for his life with drugs and procedures that were new. But he made it :)
Thank you for your wise insight. I hope I gave Albert a chance to survive. He was in the emergency room and had immediate care, so things should have worked out for him. Though I'm pretty sure he lost his job.😎
The irony was in his having a heart attack, as my brother was nearly killed by heart disease. It's actually not much fun bringing back those memories, but probably good to work that stuff out.

sometimes it can be surprising that an episode of which we thought we are long through can still arouse those feelings. We humans are incredible. Everything counts which helps to mature :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62852.17
ETH 2463.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64