You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Larry: A Family Album

in #story5 years ago (edited)

A beautiful and fitting October piece. Pumpkins and the orange red colours of the season. Every year it welcomes us and what grows in it. The brightly painted market stall appeals to my senses. You tell your story so pleasantly fluid and unpretentious. Do the characters have autobiographical traits? It seems that way to me. On the one hand, I imagine the many sounds and also the action level when you have four children in the house. Such a real bee nest. Did she have neighbours?

I imagine the surroundings. You created a very good mood and stimulated my imagination. I also have to think a little about Bridges of Madison County, although it's a completely different plot.

A little strange to leave from Agnes. You don't understand her. What drove her away from her husband? Was it that she didn't want to look reality in the eye, that being a farmer, if not in the cradle, is too much of an affliction? And at the same time I understand how painful it is to feed animals every day and then see them sold and imagine that they are slaughtered. If you don't learn to let go of the animals, it will be unbearable. A simply told story with a very profound scope for interpretation.

I had greater sympathies with the man. He is who he is. It was his way of life that brought him a family for a while. How sad that he could not bridge the bad times. That they did not manage it together.

People should not have to give up or leave each other. But that's the way it is. And it will stay that way.

Many thanks for this thoughtful piece of tale.

Yours E.

Sort:  

Hello, Erika!
So nice to see you here. I'm glad you read my simple story, about ordinary people. I agree with you: Larry is a tragic figure, in the most usual way. Does it not happen to all of us that life evolves slowly and we seem to be in its grip, although really we are not acknowledging our autonomy.
Both husband and wife are responsible for the failure of their marriage. Isn't that usually the case? We have expectations that are not realistic. And then we don't confront issues when they arise.
I so appreciate your insight. And very much appreciate the time you spent thinking about my story.
I hope you and your son are well and peaceful. I am, relatively speaking.
With affection,
Hugs from autumnal New York,
AG

Yes, true, both are responsible. ... One also can see separation as a dynamic acknowledgement to ones development. People learn from retrospective and when they are able to take the learnings into account for future relationships it can work out well. ... I needed several separations in my life to realize that it's not the partner I wanted to separate from, but more my concept of relationships and also that I didn't know that every relationship was something necessary in that particular period of my life. Now that I realized that I actually wouldn't want to separate from "myself" I no longer can imagine to "fight" over relationships or friendships.

Now the nights are getting cold here. I feel the shift in my system and want to prepare for making my nest comfortable and winter proven :)

"Relatively wellness and peace" is good enough, I'd say :)
Feel hugged, too, my friend.
yours E.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79