Amazing yet rocky birthday

in #story7 years ago

I was so inspired to turn 33 that I felt like painting a colourful galaxy.

IMG_5468.JPG

I was so lucky that my birthday coincided with the Vancouver comics art festival and to be able to share it with a world I have come to love so dearly. I made it to the event about an hour before close on a gorgeous day and met up with my friend Maria by chance after we had been telling each other we would go together which worked out perfectly.

IMG_5466.JPG

I spent a bit of time with some comic book authors one of which is the famous Camilla D'Errico who has some online classes of her own where you can learn the art of shojo which is an feminine style of anime.

IMG_5467.JPG

My boyfriend gave me his Sony Camera, gorgeous flowers and made me a Bloody Caesar which was so very sweet. I feel really privileged to be cared for in this way which is why what was to come made me feel extra embarrassed.

IMG_5462.JPG

We went together to the Vancouver Comic Jam, a form of comic book improv where he felt like I blew him off so he left. He later told me he wished we had talked at that time but instead, when he asked me how long I would be, I told him: I don't know.

IMG_5464.JPG

IMG_5465.JPG

When I got to his place, he wasn't too happy, he didn't want to talk. I think he had a very different idea of what my birthday would be like. Today, we had a long talk to try to figure out where we stand and it went pretty well overall because I really made an effort to listen. I know for him to go all out like this can only mean he is very dedicated to me and I tried to explain that this was a very special jam because of VanCaf. Long story short, we ended up eating the cake which in his set of expectations, should have been eaten yesterday. It's always a challenge to adjust to another person's values and I think it's pretty miraculous that two men with condirable egos could ever get so close so fast.

IMG_5463.JPG

Here is a collage from my aunt who is extremely spiritual and makes these for the birthdays of all around her.

IMG_5460.JPG

.

Sort:  

Beautiful painting! I love the colors!

Thanks a bunch I will be making more of these!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75