'59 A Space Exploration Adventure: PT32steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story5 years ago

Li said, “I’m sure a better qualified and more experienced officer would have managed to save the ship, Sir.”
“I don’t think so,” Stirling smiled. “And I can’t think of many officers who would have risked their lives like you did.”
“I only did my duty, Sir.”
“Well I’m delighted to have you back at the academy, and I’m sure that between us we can get you fully fit and trained to fly on one of our future missions.”

© A Sunderland 2011


Li beamed, “I won’t let you down, Sir.”
Stirling nodded. “I know you won’t.”
Merryweather held out his hand and said, “if you want to come down here, Lieutenant, we’ll start on your assessment.
Stirling said, “well I’ll leave you people to it.” He turned his chair towards the door.
Cindy said, “I’ll come out with you.” She held the door open for him, waved to Li, and said, “good luck with everything. I will keep a close eye on your progress.”
Li waved back. “Thank you, Doctor.”
On the balcony Cindy stopped and looked wistfully down at the various fitness and exercise classes taking place. She stood silently for a moment.
Stirling pulled his chair up beside her and said, “the mental toughness and courage of some of those people really humbles me at times.”
Cindy turned and looked intently at Stirling.
He looked quizzically at her.
She shook her head and turned back to watching the activity in the hall.
He asked, “is there something you want to say to me, Doctor?”
She took a deep breath and turned to face him again. “Even six months ago many of these people would have been condemned to see out their days with shattered bodies and missing limbs. But now we can fix any part of the human body. We can virtually rebuild someone and put them back together like brand new. Often even better than they ever were before.”
“Sounds a bit like the old joke - hey, Doc, will I be able to play the piano when I get my new hands?”
Cindy laughed. “That’s great, because I couldn’t do it before.” She nodded. “I’ve seen people learn the piano or guitar because they didn’t want to waste the gift that we’d given them. And we can give people the balance and coordination their limbs and nerves couldn’t provide before. I know of two incredible athletes who had no sporting ability before their major trauma.”
“I’ve no desire to do the high jump or play at Wembley stadium,” Stirling quipped.
“I don’t wish to pry, David, but don’t you…ever wish that you could walk again?”
“I’m just thankful to be alive. I came into this business knowing that there was a fair chance that I wouldn’t get out of it alive. Knowing that I would be lucky to avoid major injury at some time.”
He grinned, banged his fist on the right armrest, and said, “God knows, I’ve had a guardian angel working overtime to protect me. She must have retired by now, totally knackered. I’ve had fighter jets and spaceships shot to pieces around me and survived some nose first crash landings.”
He smiled at Cindy. “I’ve used up all my nine lives. I’ve done what I loved and I’m fortunate to still be doing something that I love even more.” He tapped both armrests and said, “this thing can instill the fear of God into students. And dare I say it, even into some staff.” He grinned. “I wouldn’t have it any other way.”
Cindy laughed. “Yes, I’ve noticed that. You always did have a way of twisting things around for your own…” she winked, “…devious ends.”
“I’ll take that as a compliment.”
“It’s your choice, David. At least please come in to talk to me and discuss your options.”
“I’m not going to do it,” Stirling swept his right arm out over the hall, “because I’m opposed to the message you’re sending out…” He paused. “I’ve got nothing against these people wanting their lives back, but how many are you going to condemn to this pain, misery, and suffering?”
“I don’t know how you can even say that!” She stared incredulously at him. “You’ve seen for yourself that we’re rebuilding their lives. That we’re putting an end to just about every disability and deformity.”
Stirling pursed his lips for a moment. “I know how passionate you are about the lives you save and the new hope you give to so many people, Cindy. But this is the law of unintended consequences at work here, and it scares the life out of me.”
What are you talking about? How can anything bad come out of restoring people’s lives?”

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34