FROM BONDAGE TO SUCCESS

in #story6 years ago

You are a great woman, Vivian. You have done all you should have, and you have done all I ought to. You have acted like a strong man but because you are not a man, I call you a great woman. I failed in my duties as a husband, father and even as a human being. I made you suffer because left my duties for you to do. If I had done a little then, there wouldn’t have been so much for you to do.image (1).png

But, I did nothing at all. Can you forgive me? Okafor asked. Yes, I can forgive you. You acted in error. And since you have come to that realisation, I can hold nothing against you. I forgive you from the depth of my heart Vivian said with tears trickling down her cheeks. Thank you my dear. Uche! He called. Sir, Uche answered. Listen to what I am about to say. I have lived a worthless life. Ever since I was born I have received and receive from people, but I have never given back to anyone because I never have anything to give.

From being a lazy boy, I became a lazy man and as I lay on this bed, I am a worthless fellow. My son, every success or failure is the result of choice. While a man with a drive to succeed in life will choose to work hard, a failure like me will choose a life of ease. But, life of ease is a choice for poverty, hunger and worthlessness. So, my son do not live the kind of life I have been living. Choose to work hard and you will become successful.

Success in life is by choice not by chance. I wish you both well and may God help you, Okafor prayed. Amen, they answered. You can go about your duties. I want to have a little rest, Okafor said. There-after, Vivian and Uche left. Then Okafor shut his eyes in his sleep. As he breathed his last, his lifeless body laid motionless on the bed. An hour later his family members came together and he was given a quiet burial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11