You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CHRISTMAS IN RUSSIA

in #story7 years ago (edited)

As you already know, many Americans celebrate Christmas on December 25th, Christian or not. It has become more of a commercial holiday here, but, I have found that only if you let it.

We usually will spend the holidays together with the family somewhere in the middle of where we all live. Last year, we enjoyed the Washington, DC area so I didn't have to go anywhere. It is a time for family and friends and we put aside the gift giving unless it is something from the heart that we want to give or say. (we still have relatives that send gifts to our house though) I was given a letter from my mother who passed away not to long ago and my brother took a journal she had been writing for me (spanning most of her adult life) and wrapped it up and gave it to me. I am pretty sure I will never have another moment that will compare with this one.

We go to church, we still love the ritual and pagentry of Christmas Eve and the story acted out.

I guess I would say that it is a time of love, togetherness, faith, and charity. We always adopt a family with no means and make a Christmas for the kids. We are fortunate enough to be able to do this and there isn't anything in this world that I need or want, except perhaps a little peace on earth.

That I will take. tip!

Sort:  

Thank you for your beautiful feedback, Denise! And thank you for the tip! Now, if I could reciprocate by giving you peace on Earth… It's a work in progress though, so it might take a little more time. :D One small step at a time…

The present that you got was truly once-in-a-lifetime special gift. It must have felt overwhelming, I can only imagine…

Here in Sweden the emphasis is on the Christmas Eve, December 24th. The actual Christmas Day is spent resting, relaxing, idle chatting with family and friends, going on walks and generally taking it easy after all the build-up and excitement of the previous day. Most shops and cafés are closed on Christmas Day, so people stay at home and working on the left-overs from the Christmas dinner. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64167.02
ETH 2769.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67