The Old Ones [Part 4] Final Part

in #story5 years ago (edited)

Image Source

Let's just stick with the grey one. 
As you wish. Said the old man. 

Lee's big brown eyes turned to rather sad. I didn't realized, but I think they did, because the old lady stepped closer to us and said. 

This brown soft fabric would fit him very well and he would look like a prince in it. Take the brown one do not be like that. 

I don't want him to get used to the better things just yet. He can have them when he will be able to earn his money for that.

Make it from the grey one. I stated clearly. I took the money out of my wallet and placed it to the table.

The old man looked at the money first and then at Lee who was standing there fractiously. 

The old man said to Joanna. Can you see this little boy here? He is not smiling anymore. Yes I can see that. Said Joanna and remembered when he was smiling. He's got such a beautiful smile. 

I noticed that they talk about his smile a lot. Did you have a son like that? I asked.

The old man and the old woman both nodded at the same time and their eyes filled up with tears.

What happened to him? I asked with sympathy. 

He has grown up now and he doesn't love us as he loved us before. He is not sitting anymore on our lap. 

And where is he now?

He is a retired major in Graz. Said the old man sadly.

The old lady stepped close to the old man and whispered something in his ear. If you could make some discount from the brown fabric. They both winked at each other and the old women returned to her room. 

The old man started to make the measurements then said. Come back in a week time to try them on. It will be ready for you.

Lee counted the days and exactly one week later we were back in the shop. The old man was sitting at the same spot where he was before. He looked surprised by seeing us back this soon. 

We are here to try the trousers on. The old man didn't even stand up. He was just sitting there on his stool covered with his blanket. 

They are not ready yet. Answered the old man. 

You said it will be ready in a week. Nothing can be perfect. Said the old man. The old lady looked out through the door again, but when she saw us she disappeared. 

So when can we come back again? I asked. In four days. Answered the old man. 

We left the shop. We only took a few steps when we heard that somebody is approaching us. We turned back and saw the old lady was trying to catch up with us. A freshly baked still warm white loaf was in her hands and gave it to Lee. My son torn the bread and had some of it. 

Next day we heard from somebody who was local, that the old man used to have a big busy profitable business and worked with nine people. And he has two houses. The reason he sits in the shop is because he was in there in his whole life and he couldn't sit anywhere else.

A few days later when we walked by the shop, the old man knocked on the door and invited us in. They are ready! He was walking up and down the shop as if he was looking for something. 

What did I want, what did I want? Oh yes I know, the trousers as I said. I have to call Hans in.

Hans was a really really old man about ninety years old. He could hardly walk. 

Hans bring them in! Said Frederick, but only the coat. Do not touch anything else. 

He brought in the grey coat very carefully as it was something very valuable followed by the old lady.

Frederick tried the coat on Lee and Joanna was very happy with what she saw. It is perfectly tailored! Said Joanna. 

Of course I tailored it! Exclaimed Frederick. He tailored it. Proved Hans.
All of them were happy. Perfect, perfect they repeated over and over.

Yes, I cut in, but it is too long. You have to cut off from the bottom. I said.

What? Cut off from it. It is impossible! Can you hear that Joanna? He wants me to cut off from it. Your son will grow into it in two years. 

In two years? He will have four different coats in two years. 

The old lady came behind my back and started to wave to the old man. Frederick understood the signs and put his hands down and said. Customers order, tailors obey them. 

Frederick slowly took off the coat from Lee. Was the bread nice I gave you? Asked Joanna. Yes it was nice. Answered Lee. 

We left the shop and waited for days to deliver the new coat, but they didn't. Lee had a friend who wore long trousers. 

One day I will get mine too. Said Lee. It never arrived. 

It was the last day. We are travelling back home tomorrow. I went back to the shop to complain. 

It will be ready by tomorrow. Said the old man. But we are travelling home tomorrow at 10 am. You can take it with you. Said Frederick. 

In the next morning we were going to the railway station without the coat. You see my son? They couldn't make it for you. I said to Lee.

Because they are too old and cannot see very well. Said Lee. They called our train and started to get on when somebody grabbed my coat behind me. It was Hans with a pack in his hands. I wanted to give him a tip for bringing it after us, but he turned away and went away. 

We only opened the pack back at home. Lee was surprised. So much pleasure was in his voice. He saw the trousers but not in grey. It was the brown soft baize with the slightly blue stripes. The old man left the coat as long as it was. Lee was not bothered about it. It had a benefit. The pockets of the coat were so big and they were filled up with the freshly baked still warm white bread.

Part 1, Part 2, Part 3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05