You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Echoes of Tommorrow's Past - Part 13 (My Original Novella)

in #story7 years ago

I've decided you are a true master of suspense, chapter after chapter and I'm always holding my breath at the end of each one! I now truly understand the meaning of 'the tension is so thick you cut it with a knife'.
It's funny that some would see the operation as an obvious solution, while I lean way more on the side of him getting control of his mind as the better solution. If he could just overcome it, perhaps stand up and 'face the monster' the next time it comes for him, maybe he could make that monster disappear. And not do something so unbearably risky as an operation that might leave him a vegetable.
It really is a blast being on this journey with you, can't wait to see which way you choose to go my beautiful friend :)

Sort:  

Hey lovely @dreemit! And thank you so much for the kind words!

I love with way your mind thinks and how if it was you, you'd literally "tell" yourself that it was all imagined. The problem here is that his subconscious it imprinting it's visions onto the chips contained within his brain. So, in effect, "pushing" those images out for him to view in the physical space. Dr. Grey mentioned briefly about the importance of synchronicity between the optic and aural timings of his brain and the chip for the whole system to work effectively. So because his subconscious is relaying information a split second "further" along the blockchain timeline, he can actually "see" what's in his mind. The fusion of the chip and medial lobe of his brain means there is a direct link from James's mind to his eyes and ears. A two-way information highway, if you like.

Sorry for the convoluted explanation but I do find this topic fascinating!

Hope you like the rest! Bless you, @dreemit!

No apologies, that is fascinating. I'm now trying to imagine if I could get around it despite how real it would be...lol! You're saying that he actually sees them the way we see what is actually real, but they don't have physical substance do they? They wouldn't be able to touch him? Just curious, hee.

I'm sure I will love the rest, it's so much fun for me to read what you write, to see your imagination come to life on the page :)

Exactly! They are a physical projection of his own subconscious desires. He has no control over them. His "mental" blockchain being able to store everything he physically sees and hears, but his subconscious has also learned to create and imprint it's "own" version of what it wants to see and hear onto the same blockchain too. Hence, his subliminal wish to resurrect his dead mother from the grave is actually happening because deep inside, that's what he really wants!.

Our subconscious thoughts usually manifest in dreams, where you can actually believe you are somewhere else and it can feel so incredible real at the time. Except in my story, those dreams are brought into literal reality. Plainly seen as clear as you see everything in front of you right now.

Lol! Again, I'm waffling! But that's how deeply I've thought about this one! Sorry!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61025.71
ETH 2726.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45