Why can't you see DEATH - A story my father used to tell me - My First Steemit Post

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Hello, everyone this is a story my dad use to tell me when I was a kid. In Nepal, we call Death Aka The Grim Reaper : Kaal. As we all know no one can see death. So, let me tell you the story my dad told me as a kid. 

Once upon a time, Death was a normal human being. He was sent to earth in human form by the Hindu gods to guide the souls when their time came. He loved his job to help the souls and live among human beings. 

Lal Bahadur, was a woodcutter who lived in a small village, with his wife and two kids. Lalu who was endearly call ‘Lalu’ was a honest, kind hearted and hard working man. He always used to help others in need and was considered a very good man in his society. 

On his regular days he would cut woods in the forest and then sell it in the market to buy groceries for his family. But one day, when he came home his world turned upside down, his wife and kids were lying dead on the floor. He felt so helpless that he could do nothing but cry. They were his only happiness  and meaning in life, and he was robbed of it. He sat there in pain and anger as he cried for hours, while shouting and cursing the gods, " What have I ever done to you? What has my family ever done to you? I never did anything cruel or hurt anyone!  So, why did you do this to me god? Why?". 

After he finally calmed himself, he buried the bodies of his wife and children. After few days he found out Kaal visited their when he was gone thanks to the information from the villagers. Lalu prayed to the gods to grant him dead and to sent Kaal to get him, so that he could be reunite with him family, but Kaal never came for him. After two years he decided to move to the forest to live there.  

In the forest, he searched for the biggest tree he could find there, after few hours he finally found a tree that was very big, he used all his experience and skills to make hollow the tree from the inside and made a small house out of it, with staircase, beds etc and he began to live there. 

One day when he went to fetch some water from a River nearby. A stranger came by and sat beside him, the stranger asked if he had matchsticks to light up his cigarette. Lalu, gave him the matchsticks to which the stranger offered him a cigarette in return. As They were both smoking and talking. Lalu asked,” What do you do for living? I have never seen you around here?” The Stranger replied,” Well, I am Kaal, and I’ve come up to pick up the soul of the woman who is taking bath in the river. Her time has come.” 

Lalu was surprised to hear that and replied,” I don’t believe you at all. I thought Kaal would be more terrifying, yet you look like a normal human, You are kidding me...” Kaal told him to watch if he doesn’t believe. He put off his cigarette as he stood up and walked towards the woman. He walked up to a big tree beside the river and pulled its tiny roots. The tree fell on top of the woman, resulting in her death. He came back and said,” See? I wasn’t lying. I am Kaal, I hope you are convinced now.” 

Lalu was so furious, he had urge to hit Kaal with all his rage and pain, but controlled himself as he came got an idea, " Yes, I belive you now Kaal" he replied with a fake smile, something Kaal missed to notice. The two man kept talking throughout the whole day, Lalu invited him to dinner, not taking a no for an answer, giving Kaal no other choice so he accepted the invitation. Lalu took him to his house deep inside the forest. Kaal was surprised and impressed with how Lalu had turned a tree into a house. 

The evening went great, the two of them talked a lot, had dinner, Kaal was impressed with his cooking skills as well. After dinner Lalu told him to wait for him, as he went out to  fetch some fruits for them, but it was a trap as Lalu left he locked the door from the outside, leaving Kaal trapped inside the hollow tree with no way out. Kaal couldn't escape nor call for help as he was too deep in the forest, he was trapped for eternity, as years came to pass with no deaths, the world fell in chaos, which caused trouble for the gods as well, for they couldn't find Kaal. 

The world was facing problems like food shortage and pollution, the situation was getting worse and worse everyday. But, finally after few a years. The Gods were able to find the last soul Kaal helped and she told that she saw Lalu with Kaal before he went missing. 

Lord Shiva himself went down to earth to meet Lalu in person. He asked Lalu if he knew where Kaal was. Lalu couldn’t hold back the guilt any longer and he started crying and he said,” Lord Shiva, I am sorry, I was living a happy life but all of sudden you robbed me of my happiness, You took away my only purpose to live in this life. Yet, I waited for you to take me as well but you never did. I only wished if had taken me instead of my family. I didn’t know what to do so I punished the one who was responsible for all of this. I am sorry.” 

Lord Shiva replied, “Show me where Kaal is, I can’t give you your family back but I will take you to them. I promise.” Lalu agreed and he took Lord Shiva to the Hollow tree and Lalu gave him the key. As promised, Lalu was taken to his family. 

Lord Shiva went and opened the door.  Kaal looked really scary, his nails had grew very long, had long hairs and looked horrible. As soon as Kaal realized it was Lord Shiva himself, he went on to his knees and he said he wants to resign from his job, But Lord Shiva denied asking him to make a wish that he will fulfill no matter what, but Kaal had to continue with his job. 

Having no choice Kaal replied,” If I have to keep this job, than I wish to be invisible for all and have to be able to pass through everything.” Lord Shiva accepted his wishes and gave him what he asked for. So, from that day, no one was able see Kaal coming for them. 

That was the story my dad use to tell me. Whether it’s true or not, I hope you enjoyed that story as I did as a kid. Let’s live our lives to the fullest till death comes for us and open our arms for Death when he does. 

That’s my first post here on Steemit. I am hoping to write stories like this one, tutorials on Web Designing, Travel Guides, Jokes, Real story of people etc whatever I can think of. Let me know in the comments below if you loved my story and want more of it. Thanks !!!   

My Profile : Digital Ronin
Website     : www.rozenrai.com

Sort:  

This was a pretty cool story! I love these stories of the gods and the men...my interest is mostly in Greek mythology,but this was interesting!thank you for sharing

Thank you for your support.. :)

Its a pleasure my friend :) quick tip: make an itroduction of yourself and post it with the #introduceyourself tag so the community will get to know you

OK, I will do it.. Again thanks for help

Where do i include the hashtag?? In the title or the body? or at last??

When you are ready to post a blog,there will be a bar where you can enter up to 5 tags to post your blog in...examples: #steemit , #cryptocurrency , #steem , #minnowsupport

O anything in your post you use a # with like #food or #money will be one of your 5 tags....in the tag bar you do not need to use the #

Great post !!!
Follow me and I will follow you !!!
And lets do the comments and upvotes exchange !!!

Follow me back..

@digitalr0nin be wary of users with less than 25 reputation...the are mostly spammers and get flagged by the community

Hello! I just upvoted you! I help new Steemit members! Upvote this comment and follow me! i will upvote your future posts! To any other visitor, upvote this post also to receive free UpVotes from me! Happy SteemIt!

I am new year don't know too much.. Hope I will do fine..

This gave me chills. I love this story, true or not im a big fan. Thank you for sharing my friend

I also don't know its true or not. But glad that you enjoyed the story as I did when my father told me when I was a kid. Follow me I've more to come.. :)

Nice one Brother!.. My father used tell me some different story about the Death. Once there lived a a wise man called Naseeruddin shah near Baghdad. He had some servants under him. One day he orders one of his servants to go fetch some vegetables from market but the servant returns with empty hands and shivering. On being questioned by the Shah, servant replies that he saw the Goddess of Death staring at him in the market and she tried to communicate with him. After thinking for a while Shah orders him to leave the town for Baghdad. After the servant's departure, Shah decides to investigate the matter and proceeds to market where, he finds the Death Goddess. He question her why did she scared his servant. To his astonishment, the Goddess replies that she did not scared him but his presence in this market astonished her because she was about to take his life that evening in Baghdad, but he was still in this town.

So, DEATH..... If you wait for Death, it would'nt come... When it does, you can't wait........

Nice on brother... Love it... May be I'll do some research and make a story about it too....

Saluton @digitalr0nin kaj bonvenon je steemit. Welcome on board. I very much like your intro post. Well retold your father's story. Keep steeming! I follow you.

Thanks @johano... I followed you back.. :)

Great post!Following.

Thank You !!! @christa0 I will follow you too...

Welcome to steemit hope you enjoy it here!! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41