Update on Uptown Girl

in #story7 years ago (edited)

flapper.jpg
It's been four months since I traded in my mobile home on the beach for an apartment above a pharmacy on the main street of a small village. I have to say, I am amazed at how peaceful my new existence is. I wondered why it had taken me so long to change things up. I have a liquor store across the street next to the hardware store and post office. All my favourite eateries are close by and that explains why my weight has stayed the same even though I have sixteen steps to climb. I have found living uptown quite exciting. Why, just recently I was sitting in my living room when I heard a cow moo.
Really? I glanced out my window from my second story vantage point and low and behold, a cattle truck was stopped at the intersection below. From my back deck over looking the creek that flows into the river within sight also, I can listen to the ducks below and the church bells ring from across the river. So to say life is idyllic would be an understatement. My building was built in the 1880's so my desire to live in a vintage apartment really manifested. My pug enjoys the bustle of the village folk as well greeting them on occasion from his lookout post at the end of my bed. I have the streetlight positioned beside my window and one early morning, 1:30 a.m. to be exact, I heard voices close by. Peeking out my blackout curtain and much to my amazement, I saw a city worker in a bucket changing light bulbs on the Christmas snowflake hanging there. I think I startled him more than the other way around! I didn't have to do a dang thing when I moved in..I am as you may or may not know a fifties girl who collects and preserves family history. My furniture fit right in. Some of my artifacts came over with my grandmother as a young child, six months after the Titanic sank. I have her wool bathing suit from the 1920's. Recently, I went to a fundraising gala dressed as a flapper, complete with fringed dress, beads, feathers and even a cigarette holder a la Audrey Hepburn! I was with a much younger crowd and I am quite sure they were unfamiliar with what a flapper was but we all had fun anyway. I am hosting my family Christmas this year because I can! My abode is spacious. I have a huge country kitchen. Of course...there is nothing modern about me. When I was in my fifties, I owned a fifties bungalow and drove a 1951 Ford Merc pickup truck. It's who I am. I do believe I was from the roaring twenties in another lifetime. 22852090_10154786998461573_3457622577182200141_n.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82