The Immovable Boulder

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Once upon a time there was a lanky man who was sleeping in the middle of the night inside his cabin when his room was suddenly filled with bright light. Awakened by what happened, he immediately got up and sat on his bed as he marveled at the radiance around him when all of a sudden the Lord appeared. The Lord told the man that He needs him to do some service and motioned the man to follow Him outside. When the man opened the front door the Lord showed him a huge boulder in front of the cabin and told him that he needs to push it with all his strength.

"So, will you do it?" the Lord asked.

"Yes, Lord! I will gladly do it." the man replied.

"You may start tomorrow." the Lord said and afterwards He disappeared. The man walked towards the huge boulder to see it up close and examine it.

"What a big boulder!" he remarked. "I don't think I can move this given my physique. . . but if the Lord asks me to push it then perhaps I have the strength to do it. After all, He wouldn't give me an impossible task."

When morning came, the man quickly set himself to do the work he was asked to do. The man set his shoulders squarely against the cold and massive boulder but no matter how hard he pushed, the boulder would not move nor even budge. Everyday, the man would go out of his cabin and push the boulder with all his might but each day he failed to move it. Every night the man would return to his cabin sore and worn out, feeling that his entire day was spent in vain. Each day was a failure. Nevertheless, he continued to push the boulder and perform his task faithfully.

Several weeks have already passed after the task was assigned to him and each day would end up with him not being able to move the boulder. Now, Satan was watching everything when the man first set out to accomplish his assignment from the Lord. Seeing that the man was showing signs of weakness and fatigue, Satan slowly approached him saying, "I have seen you do this the moment you first set your shoulders against this stupid rock. You have been pushing it for a long time now but it still hasn't budged. Let me ask you this: "Why would you kill yourself over something you obviously cannot do?" Just accept the fact that you will never ever be able to move it. Just stop."

The man answered back, "Who are you to tell me to stop? Leave me alone!"

"Very well!" Satan said. "If you want to tire yourself to death then continue this foolishness and keep pushing this boulder." Then Satan left and the man continued on his assignment.

When it was starting to get dark, the man stopped to prepare for the evening. After dinner, the man remembered what Satan said. Realizing the truth in his words, the man began to feel his heart sink. As he laid on his bed, he began to think of quitting but the thought of not doing the job the Lord told him to accomplish made him feel guilty. Finally, he began to call on the Lord and prayed. "Lord, I have laboured long and hard since the day you gave me this assignment. You know I withheld nothing back and gave all my strength to move the boulder you told me to push. Yet after all this time, it hasn't moved; not even a fraction of a millimeter. What is wrong with me? Do I really have the strength or the ability to move it? I'm sorry Lord but I don't think I can continue anymore. I'm sorry I failed you. Please take the boulder away and give it to someone else."

After having said this, the room was once again filled with light. The Lord appeared and approached the man. Looking at him compassionately, the Lord said: "Son, when I asked you to serve me and to which you accepted, I asked you to push that boulder with all your strength."

"However," the Lord continued, " I never told you that I expect you to move it. Your task was simply to push. Now you come to me tired, disheartened and feeling like a complete failure but is that really so? Have you looked at yourself lately? Don't you realize that your arms and chest are now muscled and your legs have now grown strong and hard. Haven't you noticed your endurance greatly increased and you've developed a strong stamina? Through the opposition you faced you have grown stronger and your abilities now surpass that which you used to have. Indeed, you were not able to move the boulder but your calling was only to push and be obedient and exercise your faith and trust in My wisdom. This you have done and for that I commend you and bless you. Now, since you asked that the boulder be removed, I will now take it away. For someone else is in need of it."

REFLECTION

Sometimes there are situations in our lives where we encounter things that are impossible to change. But it is precisely because of these situations where we learn to fight and press forward, exert more effort, work harder and be more resourceful. When faced with life's biggest obstacles and pain, it is then when we need to increase our faith and ask the Lord to grant us eyes that see beyond what lies in front of us. That behind every challenge something good awaits and behind every dark cloud that brings rain the sun shines brightly. We just need to trust in His love and wisdom.

"And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who are called according to his purpose." Romans 8:28

Sort:  

Congratulations @deeherald! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @deeherald! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61665.59
ETH 2884.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62