Dear Governor - Ep 2

in #story8 years ago

  Johnnie yells from next door,

 “Drew what did you do?”   

“I was only gardening Johnny, but the boss didn’t like it! And you Johnnie?”  

“Credit Drew, way too much credit Drew, you know how it works! Try to relax and sleep, relax and sleep Drew!”  

 Mark lay close beside me, Junior used my arm as a pillow, I lay on my back staring at the white, cracked ceiling.  It was late, the noise from the rain and wind was loud, interrupted by the occasional snore from Mark. 

Junior was dreaming, making strange squeaky sounds and having the occasional body shudder. I wondered for a moment what dogs dream about.   But not for long, slowly I regained control of my mind, the racing thoughts slowed. My mantra was always - step back 5 x 5, think it through and prioritize! This issue would be no different, tonight however was different, I was safe! 

The hunt tonight is not happening, it is called off, intermission, half time, quarter time, doesn’t matter - its off. 

They can’t get me here!

 It felt good, really good. 

It had been going now for what seems like so long, keeping on, keeping on. There was no other choice. But tonight it is off!

 I knew I wouldn’t sleep, but with the stress off my mind, I could think.  

 I knew someone powerful was playing with me, it was not my choice and I was not “playing”, I was running! 

To which direction I would run next was the question. I need to find the end. Where is the STOP button? Is there a stop button? He has flopped a full house now, but how will he play the cards? I don’t think he bluffs! He is good at lying but I have never seen the bluff! How will I sort this out for Mark? He has done absolutely nothing! Slow down. Prioritize. Deep breath!

 The hunt is off tonight!

 I know his connected. The hunt is off! How will I explain…?   

“Andrew, Mark, wake up, get up! Paperwork time and your off to Surigao City, the big jail!”   

The sound of the keys, the padlock, the gate, more keys, another lock –it is sickening. 

  “Andrew, Mark - get up!” the officer yells,   Mark awakes and doesn’t know where he is at first and starts freaking out before it all comes flooding back to him. “   “I thought they are going to let us go this morning – Surigao –What! Andrew what’s the plan?”  

   I mumble hollow words of reassurance, my mind takes off again…he does not bluff….fuck – Rico tried to kill me and was out within 24 hrs, I did some gardening and we are going to be transferred to Surigao…..how does that work…what about Junior….fuck – no phone, I must call Glen. “Drew leave your bag with me, they stole all my stuff when I was transferred to Surigao”….nice …. “thanks Johnnie”……prioritize….think…   Ahh that sound sux!   “Drew!”   “It will sort out Mark, try to relax”……I had nothing…he doesn’t bluff.   One day I will write a letter….faaark…..prioritize…faaark.   

“Cmon boys let go”   Faark..

 

Sort:  

Is it Siargao or Surigao?
Surigao is a real place.

surigao is real and also siargao is real!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45