Today's Story Game: Horror!!!

in #story7 years ago

It's time for another Collaborative Story Game. We'll be writing Horror Story chains this time, though, so oil up your Thinking Gears and pin down your fears. As always, I'll start with a few paragraphs to get the juices flowing and then will relinquish control to you guys to continue my chain and create new chains.

horrror_house.jpg

The broken planks of the old Stewart home always gave me the Heebee-Geebees, all warped and gnarled as it was. Now it was my home since my wife decided that she just loved the area and we couldn't go wrong with the price-point. I agreed, because I almost always did, and bought her the house. I would get over it... eventually. Until then I would have my old schoolmates' voices in my head daring me to ding-dong-ditch.

"Go on," they would chant, "ring the bell and run. They won't know it's you, they're old."

They knew, though. They knew all-too-well who was playing pranks on them. I got the beating of my life that night and a bruise that never quite went away. The next day, both of the old people in the house died. I heard rumors that they took poison together, that lightning struck out of a clear blue sky, that they had been cultists and had summoned Demonic Forces. All-in-all, I wouldn't put any of those things past them and never found the exact reason... it was never even documented short of them having "died from Natural Causes".

"Natural Causes, my ass," I thought to myself, still staring from the front walkway. "I saw their bodies at the Funeral Home, all twisted and gross. Nothing like what they had looked like when they were alive. Sure, Sara says they had strokes and that, however unlikely, it happened at the same time. Sara has always been an Optimist. Me, I'm a Realist... and a bit of an Opportunist. Thus, the house is ours after being boarded up for 13 years."

I stooped and hooked my fingers through the first bags of what would be many trips...

And this is where I leave you, my readers/writers... for now. I will be back to check in and add to the chains. Make me proud! and if you are interested in my other Story Chain Games, check them out below.

Other Story Games to Play:

Once Upon A Time...
Let's do some Sleuthing!!!

Sort:  

It took about 12 trips in all to carry in all the bags and boxes that we had, and that, of course, was only a small percentage of what we owned. Every time I grabbed the door's handle I would flinch and have to slow my breathing. I felt a bit panic-stricken, but I had went along with this, so I could only blame myself if I woke up one day, dead as a door nail.

By that last trip, the house was already absorbing the floral scent of potpourri that Sara always had to have around. "I know I sound like I'm complaining," I thought to myself, "but when you have a relationship as tight as ours, sometimes you just have to find something to complain about."

The stairs squeaked, the floors sort of 'rattled' as you stepped across them, and I could listen to the sound of the ocean because of the wind that blew through the cracks. If I were a giant, I could pick up this house and listen as if it were a Sea Shell.

"Are you coming, dear?" Sara asked me. "I'm making dinner."

I heard my stomach growl and didn't even have to answer. We both looked at my belly and just chuckled. "Well, that's decided then," I said. "What are we having?"

She smiled coyly and told me....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99