Oops. I almost just made a critical freelancer mistake… | The before-coffee chronicles of dayleeosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Ok let me back up for a little context. It’s nearly 9:30 am as I’m writing this. The alarm went off at 7:30 mind you, but neither of us were having it. I think sleeps may have been pretty rough last night, at least that’s how I’m feeling today.

In any case, I rolled out of bed, back a bit sore, and abs actually a very sore from picking up on the yogas yesterday. Sleepily, I checked my phone and there were messages from clients- received at 6:30 am…

And so, I sprang into action. Well, in reality I kinda sleepily stumbled into action. I unfolded the table I use as my desk, grabbed my steemit water bottle, (although I still haven’t taken a drink) and opened Illustrator to start making the changes…

About 3 minutes in, @teamhumble turns to me and says “Baba, you’re just mumbling numbers…” haha! He was right, I was trying to confirm that the sizes in CM the client had sent were correct with standard A6, and like a crazy person struggling with numbers (which I struggle with when fully alert anyway) I was just sitting here staring at my screen mumbling…

"A6?…. 14.8?
Yes Yes Centimeters...
By… 10? 10.5?
That’s not right…"

Like a graphically-challenged Gollum beneath the Misty Mountains of Adobe Illustrator.

I have a strict “No Crypto Before Breakfast” policy for exactly this reason. So a “No International-Standardized Print-Work Resizing before Coffee” should have been obvious. But feeling the pressure of having woken up “late” and clients being ahead by about 5 or 6 hours had me rushing into work mode before the rest of my body, and especially my brain had a moment to catch up.

Lesson learned, for the 583,243th time. @teamhumble has always been the one to be able to bring me back from the brink when I’m getting ahead of myself and stressing. He just looked at me and said “Not before coffee.” Message received. (He also made the coffee. I know… KEEPER.)

Funny, enough as I’m writing this, a second message came through…

Welp that’s that then!

Switching gears to spending some Steemit time. We just realized we have nothing for breakfast so a brisk morning walk to the shop it is! Aah the back-to-front life of a freelancer haha!

Truthfully I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I hope you’re easing into your day today friends, and being a bit kinder to yourself than I was.

Here’s to hard resets!
@dayleeo

» TWEET ME «
» YOUTUBES «
» DISCORDA «
» PODCAST «
Sort:  

let's get that shop life.

yes. im hungry. need to find pants.

get ya damn pants on.

I do nothing before coffee, its my golden rule :D

You are wise beyond your years my dear... ;)

You can chain me, you can torture me, you can even destroy this body, but you will never imprison my mind.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81