Retrospect. (Steemit original story/writing exercise)

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Retrospect stock cover.jpg

Part 1

-Daniel and Sid paced aimlessly through the thick cloud they created. Sid attempted to roll another blunt despite his hands being nearly frozen from the frigid Chicago winter. The basement was dark and dank with the smell of many nights being filled with heavy clouds of blunt smoke.
"Where'd you get this bud dude? Its way better than what you usually get." asked Daniel, a little suspicious of his friends recent activity. "I got it online dude, with Bitcoin." Sid said barely breaking his glare from the nearly perfectly cylindrical blunt he just finished. "You and that damn Bitcoin, well I'm glad its finally good for something besides supplying you with fresh info to annoy me with.": said Daniel, who's face seemed to show a release of tension as he closely observed the blunt which was emitting plumes of smoke in the dimly lit basement. "You know man, sometimes I worry you would be annoyed either way, ahah!" Sid barked back somewhat late in response as he flicked his antique lighter to light yet another marijuana filled cigar. "Maybe you should worry more about wasting all your money on fake coins than about my levels of stress."; replied Daniel.
"There's more irony in saying that than you can even know."; Sid snarked with a ominous tone just before erupting into a coughing fit. The air of the room became equally thick with awkward tension as it was with dank aroma. "This is going to make you a rich man one day, Daniel."; Added Sid.
"How if I never invest a single cent?!"; Daniel barked. "Sometimes you worry me with how little you seem to be grounded man, I just don't understand. You just float around like nothing bothers you but you haven't moved an inch since high school. How is that even possible? I mean you work the same shitty entry level job for almost 8 years and live with your mother. Don't you feel that pressure? "
Daniel sat and fidgeted around with the blunt with increasing apprehension. His expression of genuine concern seemed to him, just another thing that failed to sway Sid's emotions. Sid smiled innocently as thick smoke seeped from his mouth and streamed into his nostrils in two tiny currents.
"So me not being stressed stresses you? Think about that, bro. Think about what you're currently allowing the chemistry of your blood to change over, my lack of stress. You know what I think you need man? Some time alone, to meditate on your life. I think you lack purpose my dude." Sid said with a certain sureness and strength that seemed to disarm Daniel of his apprehensive demeanor.
"What are you doing tomorrow, dude?" Daniel asked after a few silent minutes passed, allowing the conversational pallet to adjust.
"I don't know mane, that's not up to me." Sid replied, in a less sarcastic manner than had appeared to Daniel.
" Oh here we go with more esoteric bullshit, gosh man." Daniel began laughing from his own surprise.
" I guess I should have anticipated that from you." he said.
"Well try anticipating less, you'll feel better." Sid said, dying out the stump of the marijuana filled cigar.
"But here's something you should anticipate, you gotta check the mausoleum after you get released." he said.
"Literally what in the fuck are you even talking about bro, like I'm pretty blasted but am I missing something?" Daniel inquired to little avail, as Sid began laughing so uncontrollably hard it sent him into a coughing fit which lasted for roughly a minute.

Too be continued..

@darienparlick

Sort:  

The story will continue, and further parts will be linked here in the comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58999.04
ETH 2518.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46