Beware of birth control pills – my story

in #story6 years ago

*IC - interstitial cystitis

Hello Steem world,
I’d like to share with you my story with birth control pills and ovarian cysts to prevent somebody to suffer in hell like me.

It all began with a cyst in my right ovary which burst. After 5 days in the hospital, part of my medicines included “Yasmin” – birth control pills. I had to take them because my ovaries needed a time to rest. I did some research and found out that in the past years ovarian cysts have spread, because many women decide to have children after 30 and the ovaries “overheated” of work. Women who choose to take birth control pills are putting their ovaries in break, but that can cause other problems.

As soon as I started taking “Yasmin” I started feeling so horribly depressed with a dose of anxiety. My main problem with “Yasmin” was frequent urination which leaded to pelvic pain. I thought I was having a really bad cystitis crisis, cause I get some from time to time.. it’s my weak spot, but it got worse. My gynecologist said that in that moment everything with me was fine, and birth control really has no effects on the bladder and such but who knows? Now I feel so stupid for thinking that “Yasmin” wasn’t causing my pelvic pain and cystitis symptoms.
After a few days I quit using “Yasmin” - I couldn’t even finish the package. When I stopped taking birth control, the pelvic pain and frequent urination gradually stopped. I think I‘ve stopped right on time before it went chronic.

What is interstitial cystitis?

Intеrstitial cystitis — also callеd painful bladdеr syndromе — is a chronic condition causing bladdеr prеssurе, bladdеr pain and somеtimеs pеlvic pain. Thе pain rangеs from mild discomfort to sеvеrе. Your bladdеr is a hollow, muscular organ that storеs urinе. Thе bladdеr еxpands until it's full and thеn signals your brain that it's timе to urinatе, communicating through thе pеlvic nеrvеs. This crеatеs thе urgе to urinatе for most pеoplе. With IC, thеsе signals gеt mixеd up — you fееl thе nееd to urinatе morе oftеn and with smallеr volumеs of urinе than most pеoplе. IC most oftеn affеcts womеn and can havе a long-lasting impact on quality of lifе. Although thеrе's no curе, mеdications and othеr thеrapiеs may offеr rеliеf.[1]

I continued my research and found that hormones have affected IC in many ways...some people actually seem to be allergic to their own hormones.. in some people it is just the change, sometimes it is the PH balance of how acidic you are, hormones affect a lot of things. I think these doctors and pharmaceutical companies need to research these drugs a bit longer before releasing them to us, along with the effects of antibiotics causing auto-immune diseases.

I have found that a lot of women who used to take “Yasmin” now have IC.
So ladies please pay attention to every signal that our bodies sends to us. This time I got lucky and my symptoms disappeared, but I want women around the world to be informed for the risks and consequences from birth control.

Be healthy, stay strong and confident!

Thanks for taking your time to read my story. If you find it useful please resteem or upvote! Your support is very important to me & I’ll definitely continue to share my experience with all of you!

Sources:
[1] Intеrstitial cystitis
Pictures: PixaBay

Danchita,
Xoxo

Sort:  

Yup listening to the body is the best, I've grown used to doctors perscribing medicines for cures, the cure isn't the medicine, it's the experience and learning from it.

Thanks to @dysfunctional for the resteem

Have a good day :)

Thank you for spreading awareness about something important like this. Hope you're doing better now!

Thank you for your attention. The main idea of this post was exactly this.

Thank you for sharing!
This is important to know so that we can take care of ourselves appropriately.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dysfunctional from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60932.34
ETH 3380.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50