Joining Steemit When You Have No Writing Skills?

in #story6 years ago

writing-828911_640.jpg
Source


I was talking with a friend the other day, who mentioned that he was interested in joining Steemit. He was concerned that his writing wouldn't really be good enough to be able to participate here. Turns out he had been reading my blog for a while and that got him interested in joining too.

I've planned to meet him next week to explain how it all works, perhaps even finding a way to create content without needing stellar writing skills. Streaming on Dlive might be an option for him, he does have a streaming setup. I'm not sure yet, but I'll figure something out.

This did get me thinking about how accessible Steemit is for newcomers. I mean, it does seem like you'd have to be a somewhat decent writer to become successful here. Perhaps there are some other Steem interfaces that allow people to post less formal content? If so, do share them!

Zappl for example doesn't seem to exist anymore, which could have been a solution for my friend. Microblogging is a bit more forgiving than immediately having to write full articles.

There's also Dmania, I'll certainly mention that, though I'm not sure if Dmania content is frowned upon here on Steemit. I wouldn't want my buddy to get flagged on his first couple of posts.

Anyway, this was just a short post to ask for advice. What sort of activity could someone do here on Steemit, if they're not adept at writing? Maybe there's an option for him that I haven't thought about yet.


Sort:  

I didn't write before I joined, its really not so hard if you have an opinion or knowledge about something. Everyone has their niche, and everyone is attracted to the money which of course is a pipe dream for a new person.

Maybe it's better to just start out by commenting for a while? I think I did that for the first week after I joined.

I never got that advice, and posted lots. Fortunately I met @steevc after just ONE post. I was lucky.

Excellent subject. Dlive! There are some great vloggers there who don't have English as a first language, and I find it fascinating even in 2-min videos just getting a glimpse of life in their countries.

Don't think he's the vlogging type, but I'll definitely mention it as an option!

I would suggest Steepshot. It is kind of link Instagram, but you can post a picture and then a short couple of paragraphs about it. It doesn't have to be a full on post. More than a sentence or two though so that it doesn't get spammy. That might be a great way for them to get started. Also checkout musing.io. It allows you to answer and ask questions all on the STEEM blockchain. The rewards are starting to get more decent too.

I just discovered Musing.io this afternoon, so it's funny you mentioning it too. I actually didn't realise it was on the Steem blockchain. It's similar to Quora, but hopefully less corporate.

Wel I don’t consider myself a good writer. Maybe even a bad one. But I do write about my passions which helps a lot.
Everybody has some basic writing skills and I do think that these will improve over time. I will never be a pulitzer price winner but I do think that my writing skills have improved since joining 9 months ago!
And if you do have an opinion words will come!
And look were I am now.
Let him/her start with an introduction post and commenting. Connect/introduce him to people you know here who share the same passions!
Cheers,
Peter

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-09-20-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

sir i am too a new blogger but you are right a person thinks too much before joining steemit because he thinks can he be successful can he bring the crowd towards him thats the big thing

Hi @daan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.283 which ranks you at #7739 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 68 places in the last three days (old rank 7671).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 516 contributions, your post is ranked at #169.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60752.39
ETH 2904.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73