Fosdem 2018: Great atmosphere and lots of goodies!

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I went to Fosdem 2018 as I announced in my previous post. We arrived at Etterbeek station at around 4pm and got to Fosdem after a 20 minute walk, the crown was pretty spread out because the conference was spread out across a couple of different buildings. Now it's time to go and check out our favorite open source projects.



0 A.D.

After we had looked around a little bit, we decided to go find the 0 A.D. booth and found that it was in a separate building next to the VLC stand. I got to ask a few questions about the next beta release of the game and when they would add it to the Steam Greenlight program. The answer was unsurprisingly: When it's ready! Which is pretty common to hear with open-source projects like these and I don't mind.


VLC

The VLC stand had a wheel of fortune at their stand where my girlfriend won a VLC T-shirt. It was also pretty amazing to see how diverse the crowd was, I think I must've heard around 10 different languages, ranging from Korean to Russian, when I was standing around the booths.


Github

Back outside, we noticed that there was free coffee provided by Github. Didn't get any though, because the line was way too long.



Geeks & beer

It took us a couple of hours to go through every building and visit every stand, but it was worth it in the end because we got to talk to so many developers and also got some really nice goodies along the way. You could tell that everybody there was very passionate about free and open source software, if you have never been to Fosdem, it's worth checking it out for sure!

Since the conference was in Brussels, Belgium, there were also many good Belgian beers to try out. A good chunk of the visitors were just walking with beers in their hand through all the stands. I think that must have contributed to the overall friendliness of everybody...






All the goodies

I bought the Libreoffice t-shirt and bag for 25 euro in total, the rest of the goodies were all free. Most of the stickers, I'll save for when I'm buying a new laptop.


Upvote, comment or follow if you like this post and want to see more! -- @daan


Image sources

All pictures were taken by myself at the event.

Sort:  

You got a 1.15% upvote from @nado.bot courtesy of @daan!

Send at least 0.1 SBD to participate in bid and get upvote of 0%-100% with full voting power.

You got a 35.29% upvote from @steembloggers courtesy of @daan!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75