Life Lessons Learned From Traveling Alone

in #storylast year

I've always been fascinated by the idea of traveling alone. The thought of exploring new places without anyone else to consider sounds liberating, but also a little scary. So, when I decided to take the plunge and embark on my first solo adventure, I was a mix of nerves and excitement.
I was heading towards a cozy town located the mountains of Colorado. The plan was simple: hike during the day, and write at night. I arrived in the late afternoon, and after checking into my hostel, I set out on the trail. The air was crisp and refreshing, and the views were breathtaking. I felt alive and invigorated.
But as the sun started to set, I realized I had lost track of time. The sky was darkening, and I was still miles away from my hostel. I picked up my pace, trying to ignore the growing sense of unease in my gut.
As I continued along the trail, I began to hear noises. Rustling in the bushes, branches snapping, and the sound of footsteps behind me. I tried to tell myself it was just an animal, but the noises grew louder and more persistent.
Suddenly, a hand reached out from the trees and grabbed me by the arm. My voice echoed through the empty alleyway as I thrashed and writhed in a futile attempt to break free, but the vise-like hold only tightened around my wrist. I turned to face my attacker, heart pounding in my chest.
It was a man, dressed in all black, with a wild look in his eyes. He demanded my wallet and phone, threatening me with a knife. I froze, feeling completely helpless and alone.
But then, something inside me snapped. I realized that I had been preparing for this moment my whole life. I had read books on self-defense, taken classes, and practiced different scenarios in my head. And now, it was time to put my skills to the test.
I took a deep breath and quickly assessed my surroundings. I noticed a large rock nearby, and without hesitation, I grabbed it and swung it at the man's head. He stumbled backward, and I took the opportunity to run as fast as I could.
I didn't stop until I reached the hostel, where I collapsed in a heap on the floor, shaking and crying. But through the tears, I realized something important: I was stronger than I ever knew. And if I could survive that ordeal, I could survive anything.
From that moment on, my solo adventure took on a new meaning. It wasn't just about hiking and writing; it was about pushing myself to my limits and discovering my inner strength. And while the experience was terrifying, it also taught me a valuable lesson: when you travel alone, you are never truly alone. You have the power within you to face whatever comes your way, and to come out on top.

Sort:  

traveling on your own can be a wonderful experience especially if you are an outgoing person. Most of the people I know today I met while traveling alone and it changed my life forever.

yeah, man... traveling alone is a great experience

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60856.28
ETH 2937.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44