Won't You Come With Me On A 🌊Surfing Safari?🏄

in #story7 years ago

Are you an early riser? I'm not - except for those awesome surfing safari days!

"Let's go surfin' now, Everybody's learning how, Come on and safari with me..." - The Beach Boys

Come on a surfing safari with me...

On A Surfin' Safari

On A Surfin' Safari
Image courtesy of Jan Alexander and http://pixabay.com

Surf’s up, Dude!

Let’s hit the road.

It is Oh-Dark-Thirty in the morning, and Cal pulls into my driveway just as I have barely finished gathering my gear.

I am still groggy with sleep. Cal has this perverse need to greet the sun at dawn’s first light over the Pacific. I do not share that aberration, but occasionally I may be persuaded to throw sanity to the wind and join him. Such is the irresistible draw of the waves.

We roll smoothly through the dark towards the coast. Cal brought coffee and muffins, but I just drink some grapefruit juice, saving the coffee for after our first session.


Surfin' Safari
By Brian Wilson and Mike Love

Terramar is first; it is still moonlit,

lower tide than I would like. There are some reasonable sets coming through, maybe two-footers; at the point break they curve and build, and seem larger. Watch out for the reef rocks!

After a couple of hours we head in and enjoy breakfast on top of the cliff, watching the latecomers battle for the waves. We finish eating and head up the coast to Trestles.

Trestles has some amazing waves,

but you have to fight the crowd on most days. We find a spot a bit south of the main peak and take the leftovers, which are still pretty amazing.

What a great way to spend the day! Thanks, Lord!

An Unsplash Photo

An Unsplash Photo
Photo courtesy of anja. and http://unsplash.com


~FIN~


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Yes I would..but just to listen to the waves and take pictures ;)

My dear @immarojas, you're more than welcome to come along for that alone! :)

Thank you for visiting today! ;)

Okay, dude - if you're gonna go Beachboys why not write a little surfer girl romance or a tale of a ghostly sea wraith who visits at night and call it, In MY Room? LOL!!

Ouch! Next thing I know, will you be doing stand-up comedy? ;)

Oh, sorry! just teasing, because you know how much I love Brian Wilson. The safari allusion worked quite well :)

No, the "ouch" was for your pun... Just teasing back at you! ;)

I've got the body for the arctic (the more layers to cover myself the better!) but I do love watching the surf and the crazy people who decide wrestling the ocean waves with little board as their weapon of choice is quite entertaining.

Mere, speaking of the arctic - you may not have read one of my earliest posts here about surfing:

The Humorous Truth; Willpower and Cold Water

And, yes, I am probably more than a little crazy, and so I'll take that as a compliment... ;)

Thanks for stopping by to comment! :) :) :)

I've never surfed, but I sure love those classics from the Beach Boys!

Yep, good stuff! :)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 01. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.39 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 01 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Ahh... you found my spot!

Frank

Yeah....

Haven't been there often! Seems a little to crowded and territorial to me, but the waves are really nice! ;)

Thanks for cruising on by! :)

I always wanted to try surfing

If you ever have the chance, grab it! Surfing is the greatest sport in the world!

I've got lots of other surf stories to tempt you with... Just click on the GIF above for my Table of Contents!

THANK you for dropping in and commenting! ;)

if I ever get the chance I'll try it out! I dont have the best balance! But where I live the water are not wavey and freezing cold.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66649.04
ETH 3352.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70