Where It All Happens - A True Story

in #story7 years ago

"The best preparation for tomorrow is to do today’s work superbly well."
- Sir William Osler

It's funny how one memory triggers another...

Writing about the day I was fired from Burroughs Corporation reminded me of another story from that era.

I shared an office with Bob.

Bob and I had a casual, easygoing relationship. I enjoyed Bob's company very much, and from time to time during the work week, we would "get on a roll," exchanging humorous remarks and escalating puns.

At Risk of Cascading...

At Risk of Cascading...
Photo courtesy of Sayurta CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

You should have seen our office.

Neither Bob nor I were going to win the "Office of the Year" award. We used to joke about the risk of a cascade of books and papers burying us out of sight. Future archaeologists would need to come and excavate our bones.

Future Archaeological Dig

Future Archaeological Dig
Photo courtesy of Yinan Chen, via Wikimedia Commons

It was the 1980's.

Our R&D group was a maverick within Burroughs. Rather than use Burroughs' own computers, we had installed a Digital Equipment Corporation VAX running Bell Lab's UNIX operating system. We were proud of our VAX, which boasted about 1 MIPS (Million Instructions Per Second) of compute power. We were ecstatic when we added a multi-platter hard disk drive, increasing the virtual memory capacity to 200 megabytes...

I will dare you to compare that with the compute power and memory capacity of whatever you are now reading this on! As hard as it may be to imagine, there were about forty of us using that VAX, connected to it with ANSI-style terminals.

A whopping *200 megabytes* of data...

A whopping 200 megabytes of data...
Photo courtesy of Arnold Reinhold CC BY-SA 2.5, via Wikimedia Commons

One day, Mel, a top manager, walks in to our office.

Bob and I were busy working on our terminals, studiously accomplishing our respective tasks. The office was in it's usual, edgy state of chaos.

As we both look up, Mel launches into a diatribe.

"I was just checking the VAX logs. You two are each individually using more compute time and hard drive space than any other two people in the company put together." He seemed a little upset.

For a moment there was only stunned silence.

"What's going on here?" Mel continued, his tone escalating ominously. "This has got to stop. Why in heaven's name are you two hogging all the computer resources?"

Bob and I look at each other. At this point, we can almost read one another's minds. Nevertheless, by a kind of telepathic mutual consent, it is I who turn to Mel and reply.

Where it all happens...

Where it all happens...
Photo courtesy of Thought Catalog and http://unsplash.com

"Mel, we're glad you noticed." I begin.

"It's really simple. This is where all the work is getting done."

I wish I had a photo of his face.

Stunned, Mel turned and walked out of the office. We never heard another word on the topic.

Have you ever struggled for just the right words?

Squirmed, sputtered, said something lame, later wishing you had done better?

Never before or since have I, on the spot, come up with such a perfect answer.


~FIN~


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
>>CLICK HERE!<<


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Kim Jong Un Think You Funny!

Hello, thanks for your visit and your amusing comment. :)

Do You always have to have the last word lol

Haha zing! Loving the stories - keep 'em coming!

tumblr_o1emoh8rVN1udh5n8o1_r1_400.gif

Thank you. ;)

That was truly an inspired answer, and as you so ably pointed out , There is no Comeback from that!

Nice one! That was definitely the perfect answer!!

Suffice to say, you didn't get promoted??

Hahahaha... Actually, I did change positions within the company, and later went on to better things elsewhere. :)

I bet he was happy to see your butt out the door ;)

Unisys eventually shut down the entire facility. Some of the principals started a new company, and many of the team ended up there. :)

i hope it was more fun with the new company??

While it lasted, some of the most difficult work, but also some of the most fun I ever had. :)

This is the type of response I would thought of hours later, my actual reply would have been something closer to a nervous grunt :)

Yes, it was something of a "grade B miracle" that I had the right words at the right time! :D

Thanks for reading and commenting!

Very nice my friend. :)

Today I would like to share an amazing story I read on steemit you could have a read here is the link from @awriter is a story about evil sprit the write captured this story wonderfully
https://steemit.com/gedwriting/@awriter/the-temple-of-ashes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77