"The JV Canals" - A True Tale of Invention

in #story7 years ago

"To invent, you need a good imagination and a pile of junk."
- Thomas A. Edison -

It's how God wired my brain...

For me, inventing is like breathing. Any and everything I look at is fertile ground for improvement.

That's why, in the mid 1970's, I came up with the concept for the "JV Canals."

Table of Contents

J.V. Components was a shoe-sole factory.
Image courtesy of Samuel Zeller and http://unsplash.com

I once worked in a plastics factory.

J.V. Components was a manufacturer of "unit soles." A unit sole is a single shoe bottom made from a mold of rubber or plastic. It includes the sole and the platform heel, or wedge. In other words, it is the base of the shoe, up to, but not including, the leather or fabric upper.

The company employed me as a maintenance technician at their Conway, New Hampshire plant. Within the large, steel-frame building, row upon row of English and Italian-made plastic injection molding machines ran day and night, making literally tons of unit soles.

Though some were PVC, most of the unit soles were made of Kraton, a thermoplastic rubber.

Table of Contents

J.V. Components Made "Unit Soles"
Image courtesy of Daniel Chen and http://unsplash.com

It was a labor-intensive process.

Operators pulled pairs of soles out of molds with pliers, placing them on wire-mesh racks so the Kraton could cool.

Next, soles were boxed and moved to a room where they were immersed in a chlorinating bath to harden the outer surface of the rubber.

I couldn't help myself.

Looking at all the manual steps involved in that process, I imagined a new and better way. I approached management with my idea. Realizing the huge savings offered, they adopted it.

What was my grand idea?

J.V. maintenance engineers eliminated the cooling racks and built water-filled, stainless steel troughs in their place. Subdivided polyethelyne crates waited, submerged, in the canal.

In my new design, when operators pulled the unit soles from the mold, they placed them directly into compartments in the submerged crates. There, the unit soles cooled quickly. The crates were moved along the canal with a hydraulic ram.

The same crates went through the chlorination bath. This eliminated the labor of racking, unracking, packing and unpacking the soles repeatedly between operations.

As you might imagine, all the labor my invention saved added up.

The canals reduced labor costs by $75,000 per year.

The plant manager was so happy about the savings that he gave me my last day off with pay. If I recall correctly, my day's pay at that time was less than $100...

Adjusting for inflation, the present value of what I invented would be considerably higher.

Table of Contents

You are only worth what you can negotiate.
Image courtesy of Steve Buissinne and http://pixabay.com

Savings in 2017 dollars would be $300,000.

Year after year. And that accounted for the Conway plant alone. J.V. Components had several other simlar plants in other locations where the J.V. Canals could be applied.

There's a moral to this tale.

You are only worth what you can negotiate.

Had I been a more astute negotiator, I might have been better rewarded. I knew little about negotiating at the time.

Here's your tip for the day.

No matter what you do, you can't go wrong if you spend some time learning negotiating skills. Your worth in any situation is subjective. You want it evaluated to your best advantage.

An employer or client will always try to gain your services at the lowest possible cost. Don't give away the farm like I did. Be prepared in advance to negotiate a fair exchange.


~FIN~


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
>>CLICK HERE!<<


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

So Kraton, from Krypton which after the explosion , became Kryptonite , the Honest ,Hard Working, Criminals ,only defence against that self-righteous do- gooder Superman! Enjoyed your Post, Thank you my friend. I am in a Funny Mood , as it appears I might have just been ripped off in another Car Deal! It appears you too know about these things.

Hahahahaha! A funny mood, indeed! And I'm enjoying that mood, thank you. ;)
I was a big fan of Superman, Superboy, Supergirl, Krypto the dog, the Kents, and all the great DC comic book characters surrounding them...

Oh, boy, sorry to hear about a sour deal for you... :( Is there any remedy?

Always, this time I have not paid all the money over!

Good on ya'!

So could you say, that there was some soul searching that happened in order to make this invention possible?

Hahahahahahahahaha!

Close, but no cigar... it was "sole-searching" work! ;)

;)

Upvoted and also resteemed!

Thank you.

You make excellent points here @creatr. Unfortunately too many people do not realize their worth or they are apologetic for negotiating a better contract. You're right. Companies are going to try and get the best work for the least pay they can get away with. Throwing a counter offer on the table can't hurt.

Thanks for visiting and commenting, my friend.

I'm considering writing a series on negotiating... Have to add that to "my list." ;)

That would definitely bring value to a lot of people. Too many have no idea that a little bit of assertiveness can go a long way. It took me a long time to even haggle at a farmer's market and now it's part of the "game". What joy -- especially when you feel like you've "won."

I would add "Negotiating Series" to my "Steemit Tickler File" right now if Steemit would let me edit the freakin' thing! ;)

Anybody listening??? :O

I AM! But I don't think that means anything...

Means something to me... Also, love the GIF, Thanks! :D

BTW, what do I do in the case of a "comment war," where a commenter under my "Qualifying Post" seems to have to have "the last comment?" :D

Naw the last comment can be the "last comment" - you know, the natural demise of a conversation. LOL Otherwise it's like the never-ending good-bye!

OK, got it, Thanks! ;) :D

You can see a perhaps amusing example under this article.

I was thinking about "waiting it out" and slipping in the "last comment" later... Hahahahaha...

What's your next story? How did you make some money inventing immediately after this story played out?

Sigh... Nothing is "immediate" for me, it seems...

But, I have had an enjoyable career as an engineer. You can read a lot more of my stories in my Steemit Library... Just click on the Table of Contents GIF at the bottom of the article above...

I'd suggest the Stories and Liberty shelves for starters. ;)

I hope eventually to write a series on invention and product development. Thanks for asking! ;)

Wow, I would say u got ripped off but as you say u can only get what u negotiate.
Guess its a very expensive lesson!
Thank god you have god and don't need money to fulfill you!
Bless~*~

Thanks for the visit and for your encouraging words, friend. :)

Yes Brother~
I see that you are helping people and an honorable man.
Blessings~*~

Great moral! I was thinking (before I read the ending) that you must have made out like a bandit as your idea saved them so much in costs and efficiency! I'm sorry you weren't rewarded more appropriately!! What an amazing mind you have to be able to come up with that system.

Thanks for reading and for your encouraging comment.

"Inventor" is just how God has wired my brain... can't help it! ;)

I definitely envy that ability! It takes me a long time to problem-solve things sometimes...and sometimes I quit before I get there! Keep inventing!

Very cool story, even if the official recognition you got was far below what you probably deserved.

Negotiation skills are definitely something good to have. That and "tooting your own horn" skills seem to be an essential part of getting anywhere, in these modern times.

Thanks!

Yeah, it wasn't until many years later I learned the importance of negotiating.

Over time, I hope to share some of those skills in posts, along with other "tips" for people trying to make it in the workplace...

Thanks for your visit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44