🌊 She Was My Beloved Surfmobile: ~R.I.P.~ 🏄

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Many years ago, I had one awesome driving machine.

"I've got a '34 wagon and I call it a Woodie." - Brian Wilson and Jan Berry

She had a long and fruitful life, and I miss her a lot...

Here is the true story of my now retired Surfmobile.

"I've got a '34 wagon and I call it a Woodie."

"I've got a '34 wagon and I call it a Woodie."
Photo courtesy of PublicDomainPictures and http://pixabay.com

"Well, it ain't very cheery - It's an oldie but a goodie." - Brian Wilson and Jan Berry

It's now sometime in the 1990's. During the past decade, I've taken up bodyboarding and then surfing. Surfing has become a hobby, a passion, and now my primary exercise program. As a direct consequence, my town car has assumed a new identity.

No, I don't drive a classic Woodie...

What I actually have is an old, ’83 Chevy Van I've cleverly disguised as a mild-mannered, basic transportation device. She's not much, but she gets me back and forth to work. More important, my van gets me to where it's all really happening. She gets me to the beach.

On the outside, my van looks like any old beater. At heart, however, she has a superpower. In reality, this particular Chevy is my Surfmobile.


Jan and Dean Sing "Surf City"
Written by Brian Wilson and Jan Berry, courtesy YouTube

Every morning, and especially when I am on a Surfing Safari, my Chevy is the ideal base of operations for a wave rider. Up front I have my radio and a companion seat in case there is someone with me to ride shotgun. The heater works well enough to take the chill off those really cold winter mornings.

In the back of the van,

I years ago built a couple of padded benches out of 1x2s and Lauan plywood. Lightweight, removable, efficient. Storage underneath.

There's plenty of room back there for my surfboard, a couple of body boards, gallons and gallons of hot water, a first aid kit, quilt, pillow, change of clothes, shampoo... In short, can you possibly think of anything else I might want or need?

My 1983 Chevrolet Van is a Beater

My 1983 Chevrolet Van is a Beater
Photo via Wikimedia Commons

At the break,

I lock her up and head out into the waves.

After my surf session, I set up my hot shower, clean up my gear, hang my wetsuit from the Surfmobile ceiling to dry, and get dressed for work.

For a while, I had a real high-tech shower built in. Picture this:

A five-gallon jerry can under the hood, with a copper U-turn hooked to the van heater circuit. As I drive to the beach, the engine heats the water. It stays plenty hot during my surf session. Then an electric demand pump squirts it through the low-flow nozzle hung off a gantry on the side of the van. Voila! I'm clean again.

She still gets me where I want to go...

She still gets me where I want to go...
Photo courtesy of Levi Morsy and http://unsplash.com

"But she still gets me where I want to go." - Brian Wilson and Jan Berry

Have you ever gotten attached to a car?

At the end of the day, my Surfmobile is my home away from home. I don't think I could live without her. She is part and parcel of my life, and haunts my memories in a wonderful way.

My Surfmobile: Home Away From Home

My Surfmobile: Home Away From Home
Photo courtesy of frank mckenna and http://unsplash.com

Postscript:

I put more than 200,000 miles on the Surfmobile, went through a couple of rebuilt engines and transmissions. The sad day finally arrived when I had to retire my Chevy, but I'll never forget her. She was the launchpad for many an adventure, my home on desert campouts, and my office by the beach where I developed an awesome global technology. But, most unforgettable of all, she was my beloved Surfmobile.


~FIN~


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

I feel a similar attachment to my 2004 Chevy Van! I originally bought it to convert to a camper then resell. But it's too handy to let go. It has a single bunk in the back to sleep on, and it hauls everything I need and gets me to work on time! I can't let it go. With 151,000 miles, I hope she lasts me quite awhile.

Thanks for the word and the nice photo! :) You keep her in nice condition!

I hope she keeps you going, and going, and going! :) :) :)

can't say I'm attached to cars - and I've had some cool ones. But computers...that's another story. Can't sell them or get rid of them.

I still have my Livestrong PC laptop on which I wrote A Familiar Rain and my Mac Pro Notebook that I inherited from my son - it finally started displaying pink snow but typical of Macs, couldn't just insert a new video card like a PC...ended up it would cost a fortune to fix an aging piece of technology.

But you know what? I wish I did LOL!!

I still have my MOS Technology Kim-1 from the '70s... I feel ya' bro! ;)

Vans are great. i had a Ford Econoline for years.

Have you ever heard Nanci Griffith's song about the Ford Econoline? Enjoy!

Great song! thank you friend.

You're very welcome. Glad you like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63632.98
ETH 2727.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58