You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Whispering Hope 8 - Odds and Ends Gone Missing...

in #story7 years ago

Greetings, Lex, very nice to "meet" you here on Steemit. Thank you for visiting my blog and taking the time and effort to comment.

First, Welcome to Steemit - I wish you well here and hope you will have a good experience.

In answer to your interest in the two points you've raised, I'll try to steer you in the right direction as well as I can in a short response. I'll begin by holding up the mirror for you:

"He did not speak to them without a parable, but privately to his own disciples he explained everything."
- Mark 4:34

This is true of all of scripture, and we don't have Jesus here to privately explain everything.

Of course, he is here in the person of the Holy Spirit to help us understand. However, the point I am trying to make here is that the bible, more often than not, is not written so as to be plain and easy to understand. We have to read the entire bible and have all of it in mind as we try to understand any small part of it.

Having said that, in my stories you may or may not have noticed that I have embedded a lot of links. These are the "highlighted" bits of text, as well as linked images. If you have sufficient interest in why I believe what I do and how I arrived at the conclusions that you have read in my stories, I would suggest that you go back and re-read the stories and follow all the links. The links often lead to scripture, and at other times to various articles or to other writings of my own.

You can also listen to a rather extensive interview about this series of articles recorded on the GodWave internet radio program at this address:

https://mega.nz/#F!gQcXEDAI!h9R0r5XUobuNoDtaM9mX5A

It is the one recorded on October 18th...

Summarizing, the article itself does provide considerable detail as to why I believe that, in the resurrection, we will live in the complete fulfillment of the marriage state. The details of the language Jesus used are not incidental; the reason there is no "marrying or giving in marriage" in the Glory is that THE marriage that all prior marriages foreshadowed will have already occurred. Heaven is the ultimate state of being married. I hope one day to write a more formal and detailed theological treatment of this topic one day, and if you "stay tuned" to my blog you should eventually see that.

Regarding the other point; speaking of parables, the Apocalypse or Book of Revelation written by John is one of the most, if not the most, parabolic, symbolic books in the bible. It actually tells you this very plainly near the start of the book where it gives a very clear "translation" of some of the symbols used within its pages.

And so the simple answer to your second question is this:

Revelation 21:1 is absolutely utterly and only symbolism, and does not in any way refer to the absence of literal oceans on Earth. In any case, even if God were to choose to eliminate that wonderful and (I believe) indispensable part of his design of this planet, the oceans, there are literally billions of other planets that almost certainly boast oceans. I intend (by God's gracious kindness) to one day engineer a "surf planet" where myself and other so inclined will be able to indulge our love of the ocean and surfing...

But I actually have no doubt that the Earth will continue to enjoy its oceans, along with all the vast and teeming life that they contain, that God created and that he (and so many of us!) enjoy immensely.

Thanks again for visiting and raising these questions! ;) And, please don't overlook the links within this reply! (Including my Library, linked from the GIF below...) :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60514.84
ETH 2575.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56