Park Circle North - A Childhood Adventure

in #story7 years ago (edited)

"Precocious children rarely grow up good" - W.H. Auden

This is a "certified true" adventure story from my childhood.

You'll laugh. You'll cry. You'll wonder how my mother survived.

Some might say I was a precocious child. Today while talking with my father, I was reminded of an unusual event from my childhood.

ParkCircleNorth.jpg

The House at Park Circle North
Fair Use clip from Google Maps

We lived in a very small house on Park Circle North.

The house had a big back yard where Grandma kept a garden and an assortment of fruit trees and berry bushes. Across the back fence was a large, open, unimproved park area that seems to mostly still be there to this day. Grandpa used to take me out there to fly kites. On either side were houses where my childhood friends lived.

My grandfather was a machinist at Republic Aviation Corporation, less than a mile from the house. My dad worked there also, though I don't remember exactly what he did.

F-84F

F-84F - Republic Aviation Corporation photo
No Copyright - via Flickr

I remember my third birthday,

seated at the head of a long picnic/dining room table in the house. One day, not long thereafter, I woke up and decided it would be a good day to visit dad at work. However, I didn't bother sharing this plan with mom.

I remember walking out the front door and crossing the street. At the time, there were a couple of empty lots across the street. I used to watch my dad walk through them, carrying his lunch pail on his way to work. I of course went the same way.

The next street over led over to Route 110, a fairly busy highway back in the day. On the other side of the highway was Republic Aviation.

When I reached 110,

I paused and looked both ways (as I had been taught). When I was sure there were no cars coming, I scurried across the highway. Then I walked a ways north to the security gate, where I told the guard my business. All in all, I had walked perhaps half a mile.

The Park Circle North Neighborhood

The Park Circle North Neighborhood
Fair Use clip from Google Maps

The gate guard got on his radio,

and called another security guard or a policeman. Whoever it was arrived shortly in what looked to me like a police car. When they put me in the car and asked where I lived, I dutifully replied "21 Park Circle North." I had, after all, been well trained. I also figured out fairly quickly that, despite promises to the contrary, they weren't going to let me visit dad.

Imagine my mother's surprise,

when she answered the doorbell, and there I stood beside a man in uniform. "Is this your child?" he asked. The next thing I knew, I was lying on my bed in my darkened bedroom, listening to a conversation between the cop and my mother just outside the door.

"Ma'am, has your boy ever wandered off like this before?"

"No, officer. This is very unlike him."

"You do realize, don't you, that if he does this again, we'll have to put him in jail?"

"Yes, of course. We'll see to it that it doesn't happen again."

As you might guess, that conversation put the fear of God in me, and there were no repeat performances. However, I suspect the whole episode may have contributed to my innate distrust of authority.


~FIN~


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

I found something you might be interested in. This is a real sculpture, microscopic in size. Here's a link to the photos.
http://www.jontyhurwitz.com/
and a video.

Wow, that is very cool stuff... Thanks for pointing it out! ;)

Park Circle North and other sorrows...bittersweet

it is a very nice looking house :) thanks for sharing !

Interestingly, and not surprising, it has been modified since we lived there. It did not have the upstairs section before, other than an attic. But it is surprising how much the neighborhood looks the same, and the side and back yards look very much the same.

Put a child in jail for wandering off? That seems harsh.

I guess I need to make the "humor" part of the story clearer...

That surely would be harsh were it true.

I have no doubt that my mother and the cop agreed to say those things loudly outside my door so that I would be discouraged from walking alone to see my father... ;)

Oh, I see! I'm a little slow at catching things sometimes!

No worries... I'm just trying to figure out how to revise the story just a bit to make that perfectly clear. I always appreciate your visits and comments, Thank You! :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.82 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 20 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

As ever, thanks for your astute observation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58702.65
ETH 2552.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50