Our Supersonic Flight to Boston

in #story7 years ago (edited)

“May the wind always be at your back.”
– An Old Irish Blessing –


We're in New England for Christmas this year.

This is the true story about how we happened to get here fast...

Table of Contents

Have you ever travelled faster than sound?
Image courtesy of Mariusz Prusaczyk and http://unsplash.com

Supersonic fast.

Have you ever gone supersonic?

A few days ago, we were on the last air leg of our journey to New England. Our flight was taking us from Minneapolis-Saint Paul to Boston. The pilot came on the intercom and announced that we'd be arriving in Boston about an hour ahead of schedule.

He said we had been favored with a jet stream tailwind of about 160 miles per hour. Not having slept the previous night, I didn't think to check our speed with my cellphone GPS.

Another in our traveling party, however, noticed a report on the Boeing 737's own trip computer. The report indicated that we were traveling more than 700 miles per hour (ground speed) and that the tailwind had hit peaks in excess of 190 miles per hour. Wow.

To give that some context, the highest windspeed on earth was recorded on Mount Washington in 1934. The speed was logged at 234 miles per hour, a record that stood until 2009.

What is the speed of sound?

The speed of sound actually varies depending on the altitude and density of the air. At the time, we were somewhere between 30,000 and 40,000 feet high. In that altitude range, the speed of sound is between 660 and 680 miles per hour.

Technically, we were not traveling faster than sound—at least not relative to the air around us.

However, our ground speed was twenty to forty miles per hour faster than the usual speed of sound at our altitude, had the air been still. I think that's pretty impressive.

Table of Contents

Mount Washington site of a wind speed record.
Original photo by @creatr

As we deplaned,

I spoke with the two pilots. Thanking them for a great flight, I asked about the jet stream. They told me that it tends to be more active in the winter, but that its speed is typically in the range of 90 to 120 miles per hour.

One of them told me he had taken pictures. I didn't pursue the matter. Perhaps he meant photos of the instrument panel readings that day?

Whatever the pilot meant, it is clear to me that our flight was exceptional. It was my first time ever traveling faster than sound.

May the wind always be at your back.


~FIN~



@creatr
Merry Christmas from @creatr


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK An Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

So you're in New England then. :)

That's pretty impressive speed @creatr. It still amazes me that we can achieve such things and travel at such speeds while remaining perfectly comfortable and safe inside. We are truly incredible in our potential to overcome the challenges of the world we face.

I used to have Concorde fly over my home years ago and the sonic boom was a fantastic sound to hear.

I hope you and the family are having a great time mate and that you all have a wonderful time over the New Year also. :)

Thanks, Tony.

Actually, we've now returned to Southern California... one heckuva long day and two flights yesterday. :D

We enjoyed the snow, but it's good to be back in the (relative) warm... ;)

I'm 'enjoying' the snow here also, or trying to. I live in Scotland where snow is far from an uncommon occurence and yet we still struggle to deal with a couple of inches of snowfall. :( Really glad the days are starting to get a little longer now. :)

And thanks for the Writers Block recommendation. I'll have to check them out when I come to write some fiction and see if they can help me any. :)

Thanks again mate.

"...we still struggle to deal with a couple of inches..."

Hahahahaha!

We were foiled in our rental car, had to stop and have my son help my wife walk the last couple hundred yards home while I found somewhere else to park...

Christmas Eve/Christmas Day dropped about eight inches on us.

But it was beautiful, and worth the struggle... Even so, glad it's about 80 degrees F outside today. ;)

I really had no idea that they were that strong!

Quite remarkable, isn't it? :D

And perceptually, very smooth... You'd never know you were in one without tracking the groundspeed...

Sounds wonderful. I have not been on a plane since 1998 to visit Dad in Virginia's Blue Ridge Mountains. He's gone now. Happy Christmas my friend. I will be playing Santa and have a few gigs following Christmas. I plan to see Mom after that. Blessings.

Ho, ho, ho! Have fun, Troy. :D

I'm glad to hear you'll be seeing your mom. Christmas blessings!

Now that is a trip! Traveling faster than the speed of sound is amazing to think about - still wrapping my head around that.

Ah, it is/was pretty cool...

But I hope you noticed all my caveats...

Our ground speed was notably faster than the speed of sound would have been at that altitude, had we been in still air.

What I'm really looking forward to is semi-ballistic trajectories driven by field-control drives capable of constant acceleration based on energy input without Newtonian-style mass-ejection expedients... :D

Something I've been dreaming about since my youth.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Yes, I did catch those caveats.

What I am still working to catch is the full scope of what you have been dreaming about since your youth, lol. Would what you are describing happen to be similar to an Em Drive?

Wow, my friend, I see that you are somewhat knowledgable already in this field...

It all started with (well, there was probably some preamble...) my discovery of an article in an issue of Popular Mechanics. The cover illustration for the article showed a delivery van backed up to a fifth story window in a city high-rise.

The article described the "Dean Drive," a device whose inventor claimed would convert rotary motion into a unidirectional thrust without any reaction...

And yes, I have been beyond delighted to see the practical development of the EM drive, standing the notions of the stuffed-shirt theoretical physicists on their heads... :D

Exciting times! ;)

standing the notions of the stuffed-shirt theoretical physicists on their heads... :D

I love it when the Lord breaks the rules we create in the study of His universe. :)

That's really cool. When you start to think about how fast things in the sky are moving, it's a real eye opener. I think the sunlight moves around 600 MPH. Too lazy to look it up.

Hmmmm... Are there any east to west jetstreams? If so, you could race the sun without breaking the speed of sound...

But I think the speed depends upon your latitude... At the equator, it would be about 1,000 mph... :D

Noooo East to West jetstreams. :) The race is definitely off.

Hi, @dswigle,

Sad to hear... however, somehow we got in about an hour ahead of time last night on a leg from Miami to San Diego?

Maybe it was just a "no headwind" situation... ;)

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, dear.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Hehehehe Those were going to be my exact words. LOL :)

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you also! I am a New Englander living in Washington, DC but would rather be in San Diego right now!

Yeah, it was in the 80s at our house today... ;) :D

Yeah, that makes sense since (See what I did there? I love it when that happens!) the Earth has a circumference of a little over 24,000 miles.

Merry Christmas dear friend @creatr, that this Christmas brings to your home, peace, happiness and happiness, are my wishes for you and yours
Merry Christmas Eve

Thank you so very much, my friend @jlufer! I'm glad you visited and I appreciate your good wishes.

I wish for a very Merry Christmas for you and all of your children and grandchildren, and great success with Steemit and with everything that you do to care for your precious family.

And a Happy New Year as well. We have had a very lovely Christmas Eve, thank you. :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

there isn’t a train I wouldn’t take,
No matter where it’s going...

planes, not so much :)

I'm pretty OK with almost any form of transport--except teleportation.

Amazing i appreciate your concept...And your story very fantastic...Carry on my friend ...

Nice story, and the discussion about science and many other seems fantastic...

Fantastic story. I like it. The plan is awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66