Minnows, Take Heart! You're NOT Writing For Pennies...

in #story7 years ago (edited)

"Mighty oaks from little acorns grow."
- Folk Saying

Here's an encouraging parable for you,

penned just before I retire for the evening.

An Unsplash Photo

An Unsplash Photo
Photo courtesy of Erika Degoute and http://unsplash.com

A grizzled denizen of the oceans pauses to impart a word of wisdom to a young minnow friend. Let's listen in:


"My dear, you are not writing for pennies."

"What do you mean?" asks the puzzled minnow. "I work hard, and my posts only draw a few cents each."

"Have patience, child."

answers the grizzled old Steemian.

Not a whale by any means, yet his hide is scruffy, spotted with scars and barnacles.

"Steemit is still young; in its infancy, in fact. It has far, far to grow."

"Those pennies your heart is so disdainful of, those nickels you sigh deeply about... Imagine them multiplied one hundred, or even a thousand fold, or more. Hold on to your Steem... What will you have then?"

The minnow, suddenly silent,

looks off into the distance, eyes softening. She mutters quietly, as if to herself:

"Every penny, a ten? Each nickel, fifty? Why, that one two-dollar post... one day, two thousand?

The gruff, curmudgeonly senior Steemian only smiles.


The world is changing.

We are on the brink of a new era. An era in which bankers that have ruled the world, and the tyrannical puppet governments that have enforced their will, are crumbling to ruin.

Watch the Steem economy grow. Participate, and grow with it.

The power is shifting in our direction.


~FIN~


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
>>CLICK HERE!<<


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Wise words and sage advice.

Thanks! ;)

Thanks for the words. I was thinking about giving up.

You were thinking of giving up after 3 days? You're kidding me, right?

Exactly! I have been on sites that took A YEAR to get 10 bucks!!! Plus I was on Facebook for years and never got a penny!

I'm quoting you on my posts now!

"clearly I am a washed up old has been, and like the new guy who is planning to quit Steemit because he has been on here for 3 days now and hasn't made any real money, maybe I need to re-evaluate my blogging future..."

You're welcome... Hang tough, my friend!

I will do my best for the steemit community.

We all will. And after this motivational post of course we will.

Damn straight!
The potential of Steem is beyond believe!!!

Thank you. ;)

ah, the advice from the wise. noted and certainly helpful :)

Your visit and comment are appreciated! :D

technically we are writing for bots. Just have to get on there vote train.

Well, although I won't complain about the 'bots, I write for my people...

I just haven't found them all yet! I'm looking for a few more good readers... would you like to be one? :)

Thanks for stopping by and commenting! ;)

Thanks for the encourage, if we enjoy being here success will come by itself

You're welcome!

Cute story that gives us all hope @creatr! Especially being reminded that it has alot of growing to do. Resteemed. BTW, I gave you a little shout out in my latest post! :)

THANK YOU, dear, for the Re-Steem and the shout out! :) :D

Wow, I keep seeing all of these post, "Don't Quit, Don't Give-Up, Please Stay on Steemit" ,etc"

I've been told that a lot of the Steemit accounts are empty Bot created accounts. Is this true? What will be done to clean these out of the system?

Where can we find the number of posts per day? Is there a chart that indicates the history from the beginning of the site? Who many real people are actually here?

Based on my very small understanding of the workings of the site, it appears that if you wanna get paid, you need to pay first, by buying Steem and Powering it up into Steem Power, otherwise your votes and your payouts will be pennies.

It also appears that the more power you have, the longer your writing stays at the top of the posts over time. That is why Whale Post about Steemit tend to stay at the top.

I appreciate the pep talk and the encouragement, however the way the system provides feedback is through up-votes and money. Right now, based upon that metric, I am a failure.

I'm excited to be here and have the opportunity to do what I have been doing, at other sites for free. My hope is that I can make some money doing this, but money is not why I write.

Loading...

Great post and a well written story. We all need a friend and a cheerleader/motivator to encourage the spirit. Yes I am one of those minnows still trying. Some posts do better than others. Sometimes I market the old fashioned way one follower at a time. It seams to be hard work. I see some have successes and others give up or even be censored. I keep plugging away. I do believe in Steemit. Thanks for the great post.

Keep plugging away, for sure. I think your patience and persistence will be rewarded.

Thanks for commenting. :)

wise words. i have faith in steem

Thanks for visiting! I hope you do well here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80