California Desert In Bloom - "Purple Tansy" (#5 In A Series)

in #story7 years ago (edited)

"I think it pisses God off if you walk by the color purple in a field somewhere and don't notice it." - Alice Walker

I can't believe I learned so much from the desert.

The Anza Borrego Desert surprised me with its abundance of flowers. Having a reasonable camera along has enabled me to study my results at leisure.

This is the latest from the treasure chest of photos I took that day with my Canon EOS M.

Purple Tansy

Purple Tansy
Original Work by @creatr

I had to dig a bit to find these flowers.

After finding a couple of clues, I ultimately found a match on Wikipedia: Purple Tansy, or Phacelia tanacetifolia. This lovely purple flower is native to the American Southwest and Northern Mexico.

These purple beauties are lovely close-up.

PurpleTansy.jpg

Purple Tansy
Original Work by @creatr

Long, purple filaments support white anthers high above the five petals of the flower.

Here's a picture I call "Beauty and the Beast."

Beauty and the Beast

Beauty and the Beast
Original Work by @creatr

As you can see, there are a bunch of rather brave Purple Tansys living alongside and among the stalks of a rather large, deadly, and dangerous looking cactus.

Here's another lovely cluster of blossoms.

Purple Tansy

Purple Tansy
Original Work by @creatr

If you want a really close look at the Purple Tansy,

click the link below. That will take you to http://unsplash.com where you can then click the "Download" button and get the full-resolution image. Everything on Unsplash is licensed CC0, meaning that you may use and reuse it in any way you choose without restriction.

https://unsplash.com/photos/Rbu97AI0hbI

I hope to post some more desert wildflower photos as I am able to identify them.

You can check out other posts in this series here:

Desert Dandelions
Brittle Bush
Bigelow’s Monkeyflower
The Ocotillo
Purple Tansy


~FIN~


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Pretty pictures. I love the close up :-)

Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting, dear!

If you download the last one from Unsplash, you can really "zoom in" on the detail! ;)

Very nice flowers. I would never guess they were in the desert! New follower here :)

Hi, nice to "meet" you here, @old-guy-photos! :)

Yes, isn't it quite surprising to find so many beautiful flowers in the desert? Almost shocking, and they are very delicate and appealing. There are more to come as I figure out "what they are." ;)

Also, welcome to my blog. FYI, in case you hadn't noticed, I have a "Topical Table of Contents" linked from the top-middle of the blog banner, and at the bottom of every post. I hope that as you have time you'll browse and find other articles of interest. ;) The TOC is a little out of date; I'm waiting for the HardFork17 to update it, although if they keep putting that off I may go ahead and update sooner.

Nice to meet you here as well!
Yeah I expect the mean old looking cactus, but not the delicate flower. But Ive never been in a desert lol.
I like your TOC. I read the Do You Have the Chops post and thought that about sums me up pretty well. :)

Cool! Glad you read that one, I had fun writing it. ;)

Yeah, cacti are definitely more "desert like" for sure!

my bot types with 2 fingers and is always late :( ...that's my 7 cents worth lol

Wow... An amputee 'bot? ;)

watch out for the political correctness cops :)

Congrats, @creatr! The style is great. Keep going!

Thank you, @corvuscoraxx, for stopping by to comment. :)

Beautiful photographs.

Thank you, @reenamathew, for visiting and commenting! :)

Very beautiful! The high desert in bloom after a winter with some rain is an amazing sight... feel blessed to have seen it a few times.

Indeed it is lovely! And the day I went out there it wasn't even too hot! :) Thanks for dropping by and commenting.

These truly are beautiful photographs @creatr
And that cactus is seriously mean looking! I'd hate to trip and fall into that mess! YOWZA.
I love that quote too. I've learned to take the time to look around and spot beauty in my surroundings.

Meredith!

I'm so glad you stopped by, and that you're enjoying my photos.

There are some pretty nasty cacti out in that there desert. Some of them seem to literally jump out at you and nail you! :O

Cheers, dear!

I don't know why or how I keep missing your posts, love. I'm adding you to my SteemVoter list so you get a consistent upvote from me. I usually follow along with a comment.
The cacti are beautiful in their own right, especially when they have pretty flowers blooming.

Thanks a lot. I'm a "manual voter" myself and don't get around as often or as consistently as I would like... I keep promising myself that I'll set up a 'bot of some kind, but don't want to give out any keys... need to create one on a raspberry pi or something! :D

mmmm... PIE. LOL
I would say I'm about 85+% manual voter. I've been thinking about posting about my auto vote habits; who makes it on the list and why. hmm... I may actually do exactly that for the sake of transparency - and to let people know that not ALL bots are "bad" - it's the operators that need to stay in control though.

Beauty blooms in the desert. A sign of hope.

Yes, indeed! Thank you for your encouraging comment, @opheliafu... ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44