*Everyone needs some Vitamin Sea (Featured Author @cheergirly-za)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Salt in the air and sand in my hair

Have you ever felt that life is just too much and sometimes it feels like you can’t breathe? Well I have found the perfect cure and it’s called Vitamin Sea.

There is just something about the salty smell in the air and the sand between your toes, that makes you forget about all of your problems and for a single moment it feels like you can breathe again. It recharges your battery and replenishes your soul.

The strange thing is that one of my best holidays was at the sea with my family. But the question is why I would want to go on a holiday with the people who drive me absolutely crazy?

Wallace J. Nichols, a marine biologist, believes that we all have a “blue mind” — as he puts it, “a mildly meditative state characterized by calm, peacefulness, unity, and a sense of general happiness and satisfaction with life in the moment” — that’s triggered when we’re in or near water.

The reason why I like the sea so much is not just because of the way it makes me feel, it is more about the memories I made there.

To me family is everything and my best memories with them are at the beach. When I was just a little girl I lost the love of my life, my hero, my Daddy to cancer. I can still remember the times when my dad and I would walk on the beach, pick up shells and catch crabs in the puddles by the rocks.

He woke up early every morning to go fishing and he would bring the biggest one home for supper. He took me fishing with him the one time, but fishing just isn’t for me.

South Africa has really amazing places to visit and extremely talented people. I always make sure that I have a camera with me because of our extraordinary sun sets and sand art.

If you ever get the chance to come to South Africa you should go visit a place called Ushaka Marine World. It is an aquarium which contains 32 tanks totalling 17,500 cubic meters of water, a dolphin stadium which can seat 1,200 visitors and the seal stadium can seat about 450. Apart from the dolphin and seal stadiums there are shark and penguin feeding shows to enjoy.

Ushaka Marine World has a wet and wild water park filled with fun, exciting, heart racing, blood pumping rides, including the highest water slide in the southern hemisphere. This is defiantly something you can put on your bucket list.

A Day At Sea

© Melissa Roberson

Published on July 2007

As the ocean waves at me,
And the sand greets the sea,
The fish swim free,
And shells wash up by me.

The sand squishes suddenly,
Between my shoeless toes.
Then the tide flows over them,
And back down it goes.

The salt is on my tongue,
The sea's song is sung,
The sun is going down,
And so my day at sea is done.

@crazymymzysa features authors to promote new authors and a diversity of content. All STEEM Dollars for this post go to the featured author.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62339.62
ETH 2444.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62