An Unexpected Overnight GueststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #story8 years ago

My sister woke up this morning to find a young woman, who she did not know, sleeping on her couch.

She lives alone in the country, and usually makes sure all the doors on the house are locked. She happened to forget to check the front door last night before she went to bed.

Terrified by her discovery, my sister called her boyfriend, who then drove out to the house. They woke up the woman, who had blood on her face and was disoriented. She said she had wrecked her car last night and couldn't remember much else. This was confirmed when they found her car in the ditch just down the road.

Being kind mid westerners, they gave the woman a ride into town to her home. Law enforcement arrived later to record the incident.

Not only is it disturbing that a stranger was sleeping in her house, but her loyal German Shepherd never made a noise to alert her of danger. And just because I like a good, creepy story, I will note that a similar incident happened eight years ago right by her house. A teenage girl drove her car off the road into a creek and died on the spot. I am not claiming that the two incidents are connected, or supernatural in any way. But they do make you think about who might be lurking around your house, especially if you live in the country!

Photo credit: Pixabay.com

Sort:  

Your house looks like it could use a new coat of paint

Haha! I didn't have a picture of my sister's house, so I had to scrounge one up from Pixabay.

Oh wow that is scary and very strange

Yeah, for sure! I told her she needs to sleep with a gun nearby. There are a lot of creeps out and about!

You would think having a German Shepherd it would scare strangers away lol

For total security you need a German Shepard and a Chihuahua. A Shepard to take care of scaring off any strangers, and the Chihuahua to wake up the German Shepard.

Haha I think you may be right :)

She is an intimidating dog and does not warm up to strangers quickly. She never even heard the woman come inside!

She must have been really quiet

Interesting, thought provoking, disturbing, inspiring. Very nice short, true story.

You sister probably should have called the police immediately - not so much for a stranger in the house, which is bad enough, but if the woman was seriously injured or had died on your sister's couch, that would have been extremely difficult to explain, don't you think?

It would have been difficult to explain. However, with the wrecked car in front of her house the police could have figured the story line out.

If you go into the woods tonight you might be in for a surprise....that IS creepy. Glad the woman is okay....hope your sister recovers!!!

This is her second encounter with someone walking along her road. The first time was early in the morning when a man was knocking at the door saying he ran out of gas. There was something about him that spooked my sister, plus the dog was growling at the stranger. She told him she didn't have a spare can of gas, and he left.

Yes, I think you told that story here didn't you? Sounds familiar. Maybe I saw it on Criminal Minds...funny, but not ha ha funny.

That's more than scary - and has been a "fear" of mine whenever I think of living in a rural area.

I live in a city and I don't answer my door unless I am expecting someone and I have dog who has a big bark.

Must be a Criminal Minds episode because I haven't told this story ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42