The Eba Analogy, Contributed by @Tojukaka

in #story6 years ago (edited)

There was a time I hated eating eba, but I was forced to eat it until I got used to it, and it became a part of my system. Now, I love it. Whenever Daddy was around, eba tasted better because of the wine on the side, and the promise that if we finish our food, he would take us to the park or buy us some gifts.

Steemit! Presented at the Steem Ibadan Meet-up (5).jpg

I hated drugs with a fervid passion. One fateful Tuesday, after my mum had devised so many techniques to make me swallow my malaria drug but failed, she handed me over to my dad. A good beating would have done the trick and made me swallow the drug but she knew that dad didn't like her beating us in his presence. So she handed me over to him.

I was overjoyed. I felt I had escaped the peril of swallowing a bitter chloroquine tablet. I knew dad wouldn't beat me, so I was smiling inside, looking far away from my mum due to the fear of making her angrier.

My dad was eating eba at that moment and he said this exact words; "You have to take this drug Toju." "But its too bitter," I whispered, looking at his eyes in a bid to bribe him with my crocodile tears.


headache-pain-pills-medication-159211.jpg


The next thing my dad did, convinced me that he is a genius. He wrapped the drug in a boll of Eba and then he said"Open your mouth." I did. In a sweet and pleasurable gulp, the drug now wrapped in Eba traveled smoothly and speedily down my esophagus and landed safely on my stomach. No bitter taste at all. Genius!

Steemit is just like that. Steemit is the "Eba" that is used to wrap the drug "Cryptocurrency mass adoption." Steemit has been rightly described by @andrarchy as the gateway drug for cryptocurrency mass adoption.


pexels-photo-606506.jpg


A gateway drug is not like chloroquine, it's more like cannabis. A gateway drug is a drug that usually leads the user to more addictive and dangerous drugs. Steemit has done what no other cryptocurrency could do and the entire cryptocurrency community should be grateful. Steemit made ordinary people would not have had the chance to even know about cryptocurrency to be able to earn it. It took away the bitter taste of an initial investment.

Most people come into Steemit with the intention of blogging and making some money. Before you know it, they are staring at coinmarketcap.com every ten seconds in fervid addiction. They sit there hoping that their favorite crypto, which they got with their hard-earned Steem Dollars, goes to the moon.

Sort:  

Hahahahah, so much twist in the post.
You caught me unaware, the last time you gave this illustration during steemit Ibadan meet-up @tojukaka, I was outside the hall attending to a friend who I just introduced to steemit.

I wish everybody understand what eba is in order to have a better understanding of the illustration.

If I were you, I will search for eba on Google for a better understanding in case you don't know it. But here is a short description : it's an African food, especially common in Nigeria, Ghana and Cameroon , it is made from cassava flakes, you can eat it with any soup of your choice.

Rapping the drug in the mussel would indeed save you from tasting the bitter taste of most of the drugs.

Thanks to steemit prior to my time here I only heard about bitcoin, I don't know how it operate, but now I have a better understanding of what cryptocurrencies meant.
Steemit is indeed the pathfinder for all other cryptocurrencies

This is the perfect analogy my brother. This is so true. Perfectly nailed it. This platform has given more hope, more relief, more substance and even more excitement which has never been seen before. Now, many others are trying to adopt the same, but the truth is, Steemit has captured everyone's heart and there are no two ways about it.

I love the way you went all simple and easy before hitting the nail on the head. I shouldn't be surprised, hahahaha hahaha because I have seen lot of that with your story lines.

Well done brother. Steemit it is!. Saved us from the butter pill of rip offs and made us know, how better it should have been. Bravo!. Perfecto!. Now you make me wanna speak Spanish. Hahaha.

Yes Steemit actually drugged me like a drug. But what can I do there. Because Steemit is paying for my time. Was it happy if I had spent time through Facebook or any other social?

Most people come into Steemit with the intention of blogging and making some money. Before you know it, they are staring at coinmarketcap.com every ten seconds in fervid addiction. The sit there hoping that their favorite crypto, which they got with their hard-earned Steem Dollars, goes to the moon.

You are right
Most people come to Steemit for some amount and they get their time value here. Just so??

There are many people who do not think it is too much knowledge about crypto coins. But there are many who just know a bit about Bitcoin. I would like to thank Steemit because it is being taken as a platform for everyone, that everyone else can take education as well. The crypto currency may affect the operating system of finance for the next generation. And it would be very helpful to be a stylist.

This was my secret code too. Eba or amala in some cases was my perfect cover for drugs. My most dreaded drug was Flagly. I so hated the taste.

This analogy is to the moon. Steemit is a perfect cover to the actual adoption and exposure to cryptocurrency. Firstly you relate with blogging and then after the rewards show up. This then propels the interest in cryptocurrency. Before you know it you start keeping tabs on some numbers and figures. It is so pleasant doing that, you never get tired of it.

Great piece by @tojukaka

That is an extremely apt comparison. Surprisingly enough there is a group of people who are willing to invest time rather than money on blockchain. Although time is a more precious commodity but this group is willing to give time but not money. For this group Steemit is the place to be. In the end they would even get to earn something.

Hmmm no lies , as a Nigerian who’s so familiar with solid food we call swallow, I can relate to the trick of wrapping your solid food around medication.

Steemit is a getaway drug , hmmm I totally agree with this . What a great analogy.

Most people come into Steemit with the intention of blogging and making some money. Before you know it, they are staring at coinmarketcap.com every ten seconds in fervid addiction. The sit there hoping that their favorite crypto, which they got with their hard-earned Steem Dollars, goes to the moon.

This is happening to me right now, I mean right now

Steemit is Just like short-cut to earn money 💰. Not a stressful way, just on your data or Wi-Fi and write them earn reward for your writings

Not only crytocurrencies should be grateful Sir @tojukaka , we steemians too should be grateful for this no stress high income work
Just blog and earn!!!!!!!

Your dad is truly a genius he devise a convenience way for you to take your drugs and everything works perfectly . Steemit is still changing lives positively and steemit as a platform has made thousands of people around the world to understand what is crypto currencies and it has also allowed them to earn free crypto currencies. I believe the decentralized revolution has began already and it is moving steadily

Yaaaayyyy @tojukaka has joined the queue for @communitycoin hahahahahah.. you guyz have great taste for writers. Wow

This eba analogy is so explanatory... Hmmmm weldone boss

They haven't seen anything, now @tujukaka has joined @communitycoin we gonna have more experience and lesson through their post. Welcome boss @tujukaka

Drugs are so bad that it harms human health
It destroys young people
Every addicted person must treat himself
To live a decent life

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65472.04
ETH 3323.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63