You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Perfect Pause Meditation Series (2) - The Company You Keep

in #story6 years ago

Just before I am ready for bed I thought to take a quick look at my feed.
I say your post and read it thoroughly. I recognize what you wrote. In the Netherlands, we have a saying: "Waar je mee omgaat daar wordt je mee besmet". In English it is something like: you will be infected by who you are dealing with. Or, maybe a better translation; "you will be infected with who you deal with.
It is so important to be a true friend yourself. Also on Steemit btw, because often you get only positive comments, while it is nice to have a 'counter-gas' when that is the case. Maybe that's no English but I mean it is nice to have honest comments.
It is one of the benefits of aging, I understand this kind of thing better now that I am in my sixties than when I was twenty.

Sort:  

I really like the directness of the Dutch culture, @clio. Your son approached me at SteemFest this year in Lisbon and asked why I wasn't as active on Steemit anymore and powering down. At the time we were working hard to prepare the teaser trailer for HardFork and focusing on fundraising but his direct question woke me up to the fact I needed to do a better job of tending to my blog and continuing to cultivate a larger audience here. That's a perfect example of someone being a good friend. Getting older is amazing in some aspects isn't it?

I know he knows that you are working hard for HardFork, he respects you very much. But yes, he is quite direct. Shy when he was a little boy, but that's long over now!

And yes again, it is amazing, I have a lot more patience and I do not get agitated so quickly to name just two things.
Unfortunately, the body does crack a bit more than before:)

I respect him as well. He has such a deep belief in the future of this platform that it's infectious. It's great to see what he's accomplished in this past year.

I find I'm growing more patient too, the only exception (weirdly) is when I'm driving my car. Distracted driving is of epidemic proportions here in the States. Nearly everyone is looking at their phones and drifting from lane to lane while driving.

I know all about the cracking joints! We recently got a new Nectar memory foam mattress that aligns your spine when you lay on it. The first time I laid down on that mattress it sounded like fireworks going off! Lol. Hope your week is going well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59612.39
ETH 2600.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48