You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 10 Things I Learned From Being Homeless

in #story7 years ago

Thanks for sharing your experience with all of us. I have a wife and 2 boys and can't imagine being homeless and living in a tent.

I too am one paycheck away from the street, as I am unemployed and trying to make a living. I am doing my best to keep it all together and avoid the fate that befell you. So far, so good.

Make sure you take the time to celebrate and congratulate yourself for taking care or your family, as best you could. You are simply awesome. I admire you. Too many people give-up when faced with adversity and you did not.

I agree that most people have no idea of how many folks are homeless, especially car homeless. In my area, one only has to go to a Walmart at night to see the campers & vans of the homeless, mixed in with the million dollar Provost motor homes.

One employee of the store, lives off-site in his van, but drives in each day to work.

One solution, resisted by every community in America is to make it legal to own, build and live in a small house or tiny house. There is zero excuse for Seattle to have a "Tent" city, as these folks could be put to work building their own modest small homes with one bathroom, a heater and hot and cold running water.

Cities care more about building permit fees, property taxes and zoning than they care about the welfare and dignity of their people. Seattle is not alone in this and it is shameful.

Sort:  

This country was founded by tiny home builders.

I used to think Seattle only had one tent city. They have five. Five! And they are all on Google maps! I am floored. How did this become ok?

Yes, not only are there thousands of people living in the patches of green in every city, there are just as many who are "fortunate enough" to still have their vehicles to sleep in. That is stressful in itself- it's much more difficult to be in stealth with a car. Kinda hard to hide.

I wish you the best of luck, and health. I have been urged to write a couple more posts as spin offs from this one, I think you'll be interested. I've followed you, and will support you here on steemit. This is such a great community! Be well and safe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65