Ramadan Effect

in #story6 years ago

Hello Dear Steemians,

It's been a long time since my last post. Life treating me as hard as treats anyone. Well, maybe some more :) So, i didn't find much time to log in and share my life. Well, you wouldn't believe the changes :) If you are ready and well-seated, i begin :)

Living in an Islamic state (which doesn't mentioned in motherlaw but Turkey is an Islamic state) has some differences from the rest of the world. Especially different from European countries. They have Easter and Christmass, we have Ramadan and Greater Eids. Their eids mean holiday and relief, our Ramadan means fasting.

ramadan

Fasting from sunrise to sunset. Which means don't eat, don't drink, don't swear (well, that is not a must :D), don't have sex. Briefly don't do anything for pleasure in the name of God. That's a wonderful self denial but also causes too many problems. Think about it; you could smoke after lunch time one day before. Then you couldn't even drink a glass of water in front of your desk. Or in traffic which is a pain in the ass in Istanbul.

Because of that kinds of reasons, fasting makes people angry. Bitter. Think the driver behind you keeps dimming and shouting for just a 5 second of waiting after the light turns green. Or think your colleague keeps fall asleep next of you. Or think your wife forgot your kitten locked in the bathroom and noticed it 6 hours later. Well this is why i'm writing this post :)

First of all yes, we have adopted a kitten. I really didn't expect to have a cat in my home for at least 2 years, but the mother of our kitten was under bad circumstances and we didn't have another choise but to adopt him. We named him Arthur, he is a real ass-kicker :) But this is different times story. I want to share what fasting can do to a humanbeing now :)

Last week, i had a call from my wife by 13:00.

-Alo, Cihad!
-Hey, what's happened? Why so anxious?
-I think i forgot Arthur in bathroom.
-In bathroom? Why the hell he was in the bathroom.
-He was watching me when i straighten my hair.
-Then what?
-I've unpluged straightener, finished my make-up, then left the bathroom. But i don't remember if i closed the door.
-Think hardly my dear. I don't want to go home for 1 hour just for nothing.
-I don't remember Cihad. Can you please go home?

confused

Of course i would've go home. What else can i do. My boy should've trapped into bathroom, freezing and hungry. I took metrobus, up from stairs, opened door like storm and saw Arthur in front of me. He started purr when i walk into bathroom. The thing is, bathroom door was really closed. I wondered and opened it. And i saw straightener's little lamp, shining brightly.

Our room's door was open which we don't allow Arthur to pick inside. Also she was never filled his food and freshened his water. Left the TV open and the balcony's door closed, where Arthur's litter lies.

I sad nothing of course. I've waited until she back. Because i was sure that she didn't even make-up that day. She was half asleep when preparing. I certified that idea once she returned home.

-Oh Arthur, did you fear my dear?
-No, he didn't. Because he wasn't in the bathroom.
-Oh, so i left the door open.
-No, the door was closed. But straightener was plugged.
-What? No it didn't. I'm sure that i've unplugged it.
-No, you didn't. You also didn't give the cat food or water. Also closed the balcony's door.
-I should have forgot them.
-Yes. Despite you left TV open, the real thing that amazes me is you don't have any make-up. You've told me that you finished your make-up on the phone.
-No i have make-up. (Looks the nearest mirror). OH MY GOD! DID I WALK OUTSIDE LIKE THIS? I'M LOOKING LIKE HALF DEAD! A ZOMBIE!
-You looking like fasting darling. Let's sleep i awake you near iftaree.

surprise

You can make scientific explanations like "lack of glucose" etc. But these are common things in Turkey. Thanks to people around me, i've never faced anyone being so harsh for a mistake to a fasting human. Everybody knows that Ramadan Effect and being tolerant as much as they can. That's what makes Ramadan beautiful.

Hope you live those feelings one day. I wish you all the best :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95