How the Cookie Crumbles: Episode #7

in #story7 years ago

Instinctively, she rushed to the door through which she had walked in just three hours before to find the door was unlocked. She felt relieved that at least she was not a prisoner here. She had never been to prison for any reason but she had an eerie feeling that it would not be much different from this house no matter how lavishly decorated it is.

images (40).jpg

Her eyes followed the wall of the parlour as she stood at the entrance. To the left, there was a door around where Sarah had stood to welcome her. She knocked on the door and someone responded from the room. Few seconds later, Sarah emerged from the room, still dressed as she was earlier.

“It seems you dozed off Miss. I'm sorry I didn't wake you but Mr. Iyke said you were not to be disturbed. Would you like to have your dinner now?” she asked.

“Yes, please. But may I have a glass of water first?”

“Okay Miss. What would you like? We have creamy chicken and rice soup, chicken wings in tomato source, semo with fisherman’s soup.”

“The fisherman's soup sounds delicious though I'm sure so are the rest so I will let you decide,” she said.

With an almost imperceptible bow, Sarah left to do Ada’s bidding. Ada sat down at the big dining table and pondered her whole experience since she landes at the Murtala Muhammed Airport. She brought out her phone and dialed Cris again.

“The number you have called is currently switched off at the moment.” This is different from what it said earlier that day in the airport, she thought. What was really going on? She went to the window are parted the curtain. She could see a car drive past the house but apart from that, everything was stationary and quiet. Sarah presently appeared with a bottle of sparkling water and a glass.

“Thank you Sarah. Pardon me but please, could you tell me if Cris has returned?” she asked.

“I'm sorry Miss. I don’t know Mr. Cris, only Mr. Iyke and Mr. Kensington and they went out as soon as you arrived. They will not return until later in the night, I suppose.”

“But what do you mean by ‘I don't know Mr. Cris?” she asked, panic setting in.

“I don't know many things, Miss. I just do as I'm told. Mr. Iyke will be here soon. Your dinner is coming up,” she said as she turned and walked briskly to the kitchen, leaving Ada to her thoughts.

Ada’s meal arrived and it was much more than anything she could have imagined. The aroma of the soup filled the room. She could not count the different seafood that were embodied in that soup but it tasted heavenly to her palate that had not eaten almost all day.

She finished her meal and was drinking a glass of red wine when the front door opened and Iyke walked him. He met her at the dining as she drank her wine. They said hello and he took a seat at the dining table, opposite her.

“Please where is Cris? I really need to see him”

“I'm sorry Miss Aghadinuno, I was hoping you could help me with that information. You are the last person Chris was seen with.”


Image-2389.jpg


This story is a unique synthesis of thoughts from two completely different and independent individuals.

How the Cookie Crumbles is a collaborative work between @churchboy and @royalrose, exclusively published on Steemit.

This is the seventh part of the tale which @royalrose stopped writing at How the Cookie Crumbles: Episode 6

I hope you are having as much fun reading this as we are having writing it. Please follow the story.


It's @royalrose's turn to write episode 8.

As is usual, he will make sure to write and post it within 24 hours and of course, without my input.

The end of the story is still unknown by both writers. So, you should expect a lot of exciting twists and turns. Please keep a date with us everyday for an update.


I'll be seeing you in Episode 9

It's your boy Kels
@churchboy

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65975.42
ETH 3308.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69