I See Dead PeoplesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story6 years ago

https://pixabay.com/en/fantasy-portrait-aesthetic-forest-2824654/
I SEE DEAD PEOPLE

There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio,
Than are dreamt of in our philosophy.
W. Shakespeare
Hamlet

 I see dead people. Really. Not the constant parade of souls that young Cole experienced in The Sixth Sense, but still I see them on a fairly regular basis. But it is not always "seeing", sometimes it is sensing their presence. Frequently I hear them talk (I hear their thoughts in my mind) and at other times I sense their emotions which may include intense anger, malevolence, love, and astonishment. 

 Now if you are like me you are suspect of anyone who claims they see dead people. Frankly, there are so many people out there who simply are full of crap or are in such need of recognition they will claim anything. Me? I'm pretty much a regular guy: raised a family, had a sub-contracting business for 30 years, walk the dogs every day, go shooting up in the hills…that kind of thing. But I also have some unusual encounters with the deceased. It seems that some people have the "gift". I'm one of them. Let me assure you too that when these visitations occurred I was not using any drugs or alcohol or in some distraught mental state. 

 When I first started experiencing the dead I was fortunate to discover the famous pioneering psychologist, Carl Jung, had contact with the dead himself. It was reassuring that such a luminary as Jung communed with the dead and had the courage to write about it. He shared in Memories, Dreams and Reflections an experience he had at his home "one bright summer day": "The whole house was filled as if there were a crowd present, crammed full of spirits. They were packed deep right up to the door, and the air was so thick it was scarcely possible to breathe".  These good spirits prompted Jung to write a treatise he entitled the Septem Sermones. Jung stated that, "From that time on, the dead have become ever more distinct for me…".  Upon reading of his experiences I felt validated and reassured that what I was experiencing was real.

 Indeed, the dead are distinct for me too. Sometimes I see these departed souls as they looked when they were living. At other times I see only a shimmering energy (spirit). Only once have I seen more than one spirit at a time. I was privileged to see a group of about 50 ancient Piute (native Americans) elders, all men, as one of them addressed me. Believe me, I know it sounds weird. But it happened. At other times I don't see anything but am very aware of the presence of a departed soul. Usually when I feel a presence I also receive a transfer of profound emotion or knowledge from the deceased. Case in point: This last October (2017) I went on a solo camping trip down to Mono Lake in California. I came across an old abandoned ranch and decided to do some exploring. As I wandered around the outbuildings and main yard looking at things I began sensing a presence. I began getting impressions of not only what this ranch looked like when it was in its prime but of the absolute profound love the woman who I was sensing had for the place. The ladies name was Mary DeChambeau and lived there as the matriarch of the family from 1905 to 1937. I basked in the love she had for the place. But there is more. Mary was able to transfer to my mind the intense feeling of joy and sense of home she had for the ranch. By the time she was finished with me I felt like this was the most desirable place on the planet to live. I was overwhelmed with the indescribable sense of belonging, of home. It made me weep with the profundity of it all. Anyway I was there for several  hours and finally headed out to my truck, loaded up the dogs and started to leave when Mary came and stood on the front porch of the ranch and waved to me. This is one of those instances where I did not see her as she was in life but saw her spirit essence. I heard in my mind, "Don't go. Come on in and have something to eat and visit for a while." There was no hesitation on my part. I parked the truck and went back to the main ranch house that was all boarded up. I found a back entrance that was open and went into the house. I learned the heart of the ranch and Mary's heart was the kitchen and dining area. This is where the family and friends shared meals, life and love. Mary prompted me to look up at the ceiling in the pantry. It had been painted a very pleasant dark blue. Mary's favorite color. 

      Anyway I toured the house and knew how it was back in the day when there was a family living there. It was quite moving. Even as I write this I tremble with emotion. The "knowing" was so intense I've wondered if perhaps I might have lived there in another lifetime. But I don't think so. Somehow Mary was able to bless me with the joy and love she still has for that place.

 I made my way back to the truck and went into the small town of Lee Vining close by. I wanted to get some flowers and return to the ranch with them as a gift to Mary. I found some blooms and returned, but to my great disappointment Mary had gone. I left the flowers on the front porch in a water bottle and departed with the promise I would return one day soon. 

When I got home I immediately got on the computer and looked up the ranch. I found a real treasure: Mary's grandson gave a presentation to the local Mono County Historical Society as they all met together at the ranch. He shared that his grandmother used to stand on the front porch and wave to passersby and call out to them to stop and have something to eat, and share a cup of coffee and visit for a while. He pointed to where she stood while she waved. Everything he said was exactly as I experienced it. Amazing.

 When I have these experiences I always ask myself several questions: What just happened? Am I sure it actually happened or was it my imagination? Am I exaggerating or embellishing anything? Is it the truth? These questions are important for me to ask. I don't want to fool anyone, especially myself. 

 I have met two souls who were very angry and vengeful. One of them was actually what I would call evil (he actually put a good scare in me). Another time I came upon a head on collision and was the first person to get to the scene to see if I could help. I came upon a man who was visibly dead, but I sensed his spirit still in the car. He was stunned and confused, then he was gone. I did get the distinct feeling that he was a dear soul, a beloved family man, simple in his needs and ways but very caring and loving. A few days later as I searched the obituaries I found his. Remarkably the wording commemorating his life was nearly exactly as I described him above!

 What does this all mean? First of all I have absolutely no doubt in life after the death of the body. Also, it's cool to know the other side is so close and at times open to people like me. And finally like Shakespeare said, "There are more things in heaven and earth…than are dreamt of in our philosophy".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67044.89
ETH 3251.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64